Lovely home cooked roast chicken

Roast butternut squash

After a hectic week I landed back in London. It was a bit of a relief to be met by some sunshine! It was a lovely day.

It was quite a busy week and I really wanted to cook something, the lure of home cooked food! After dropping the bag I headed to Robsons Butcher to get something I seemingly had been unable to find at the airport in Stockholm, bacon! I was in need of a bacon and tomato sandwich and their bacon is the best. Once there I also picked up a great looking Label Anglais chicken for dinner, my home cooking assignment of the day!

08DecLableAnglais

There was fresh bread so I made toast, cooked the bacon crispy and finally had my bacon sandwich! I had it with ketchup, hot sauce, sun dried tomatoes and fresh tomatoes, well worth waiting for!

Bacon and tomato sandwich

Bacon and tomato sandwich

I thought about the chicken and wanted to have a healthy but hearty dinner so I did a stuffing and served it with roast butternut squash.

Chicken stuffing – oven 200C for 30 mins, 1 hr for 175C

  • bulgur wheat, 1 dl cooked
  • lemon fillets, chopped
  • 1 carrot, finely chopped
  • 1 celery stalk, finely chopped
  • paprika powder
  • celery seeds
  • pepper
  • Hungarian spicy sausage, finely chopped
  • garlic, crushed

I mixed all the ingredients for the stuffing.

08DecStuffing

Once the chicken was stuffed and placed in the oven I prepared the butternut squash.

I did a spice mix for the butternut squash.

Roast butternut squash

  • olive oil
  • salt
  • cayenne pepper
  • cinnamon
  • thyme
  • garlic, crushed

Cut the butternut squash in quarters and brush with the oil. Then crush the garlic on top of the butternut, it will caramelize and mellow in the cooking process.

08DecButternut

When the chicken has cooked for 30 minutes add the butternut squash and they will be ready at the same time. The house smelled lovely of the cooking and I felt ravenous by the time it was ready.

Roast butternut squash

Roast butternut squash

The stuffing turned out great, and there was enough cooking juices for the base of a sauce as well.

Roast chicken, roast butternut squash and bulgur wheat stuffing

Roast chicken, roast butternut squash and bulgur wheat stuffing

It was a great dose of home cooked food and there is enough for another dinner or just chicken sandwiches!

I have entered this to Herbs on Saturday hosted by Vanesther for Karen on the great blog Lavender and Lovage

herbsonsaturday

Comments
4 Responses to “Lovely home cooked roast chicken”
  1. What a lovely entry for Herbs on Saturday and such a pretty looking meal too! Thanks did entering and next time you cook this, let me know! Karen

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] Roast Chicken with Bulgur Wheat Stuffing and Roast Butternut Squash from Food Eat Love [...]

  2. [...] Roast Chicken with Bulgur Wheat Stuffing and Roast Butternut Squash from Food Eat Love [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 518 other followers

