Vegetarian weeknight comfort curry

On the way home from work I had a craving for comfort food. Not in the mood to go shopping I decided to cook from fridge and pantry. After some roaming around I decided to do a vegetable curry.
I found butternut squash and onion from the allotment and used this as a base. I added peas and chick peas, a grated carrot, a chilli and chopped tomatoes.

I started by gently frying spices in oil. I crushed Szechuan peppercorns and coriander seeds, put this in the oil and added mustard seeds and turmeric. Once the mustard seeds start popping and the spices start to smell I add the butternut squash and onions with some chopped and crushed garlic.

I added a bay leaf, the chopped tomatoes, a sprig of basil and the chopped up chilli and simmered for 25 minutes. With 5 minutes to go I added peas and chick peas, removed the basil sprig and the bay leaf and ate with chunky bread with a bit of stilton on top! Very healthy, it made my house smell lovely and the perfect weeknight comfort food!

Comments
One Response to “Vegetarian weeknight comfort curry”
  1. This is ulitmate comfort food. How could those colours fail to cheer you up?

Leave a Reply

