Inspiered to be “Goin’ Back To My Roots” and haut cuisine

The other day I heard the old Odyssey song Goin “Back To My Roots”, I haven’t heard it in ages and all of the sudden it inspired me to going back to my roots with cooking. This means back to Sweden and what I first cooked, Swedish comfort food.

This time I felt like making meatballs, haven’t made them in years I think actually and I wanted to put a modern twist on it. The traditional way of serving is meatballs with a brown cream sauce, mash potato and lingonberry jam with pickled cucumber.
I decided to make my meatballs, slightly more adventurous spicing with added garlic and cayenne pepper, the perfect meatballs are made from really good mincemeat 50/50 beef and pork. Instead of the potato mash I did cauliflower mash, it was delicious, fluffy and light, perfect with the spicy meatballs. I did a sauce to go with it and instead of using cream I used half fat crème fraiche to get that richness and to make it lighter, it worked a treat! The only thing I would never change is lingonberry jam

The last weekend was also the day of the local annual Christmas parade. Bigger than ever before, all shops (pretty much) open and everyone in the local area and surroundings seems to have been out. The restaurants had street stalls selling snack food, bands playing and even a carousel and pony rides for the kids. It was very festive and I felt like maybe Christmas is actually not so far away. Food, food everywhere and I need to think about putting in an order for the Christmas meats, ham and turkey from our butcher.

This week I have been on the road and done most of the Northern part of the United Kingdom. I left for beautiful Edinburgh; it looks like a fairy tale city. For ages I have wanted to eat at Toms Kitchin, having seen him cook several times on TV. I tried to call and book a table several times and no one picked up, so I eyed up Restaurant Martin Wishart http://www.martin-wishart.co.uk/home.aspx and booked this instead. In the end I am glad it didn’t work out with Toms Kitchin as this was one of the best meals I have ever had!

Before the starter we had a tray of three amuse bouche, it was a trio of soups, chestnut soup with feta cheese cream, wild mushroom with vinegar foam and a corn soup. Needless to say it was delicious.
For starter I had duck with beetroots and my friend has mussels in saffron broth.
For mains we opted for the same thing, coq au vin. I have never in my whole life had a better coq au vin, it was deconstructed and each flavour stood out in its own unique way with each flavour standing out and everything working together so well.
Dessert was no less of a pleasure, my friend had apple soufflé and it looked amazing, I opted for a cheese platter, not that I had much room left but it was so delicious. I love cheese and eat a lot (too much) of it but they had an Italian blue cheese, Basajo. It is wine soaked and just heaven! Available from here: http://www.clarksfoodsonline.co.uk/-c/basajo-blue-ewes-p30 I would recommend it to everyone to try it and it will hold a proud place at Christmas dinner!
The whole lunch was eaten with, as my friend said “sound effects” a lot of oh and ah and we were very very happy when leaving, not only for all the excellent foods but also a lovely experience.

After all this, when I came home I had to have something a little lighter and a little more healthy, veg with hummus dip and smoked mackerel with a garlic and lemon cold sauce, perfect but whilst eating I wonder if I can re-create that chestnut soup!

A Thursday night continued on the lighter theme with allotment pasta. The sauce was based on tomato and cooked with so much from the allotment, broad beans, sweet corn, onion and garlic it tasted a little like summer but still rich and warming on a dark December night.

Comments
2 Responses to “Inspiered to be “Goin’ Back To My Roots” and haut cuisine”
  1. Homepage says:

    Excellent post man, maintain the good function, just shared this with my friendz 428216

  2. Thank you for every other magnificent article. The place else could anyone get that kind of info in such a perfect manner of writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I am on the look for such info.

Leave a Reply

