Steak dinner

Wednesday:
This week was just so exciting! I found a supplier of Molecular gastronomy kits! I could not wait for Santa to come but ordered one pronto! It looks amazing and I can’t wait to get started. I really feel I should get one of those white lab coats and maybe some protective glasses as well!  Somehow my apron won’t be quite the same!

I have searched the web for recipes and was very intrigued that Ferran Adria actually sell “olive oil caviar”, not sure I can even try to recreate anything he has done but I thought I might try and start with consommé caviar. It depends on how much time I have. I also saw an idea about using honey – that would be great for my cheeseboard and am sure would impress my guests. Fingers crossed it will be delivered as promised, before the weekend! As I have never done caviar before I wonder how much time it will take. I will let you know how it went!
Friday:
I have a friend over for a late lunch tomorrow and my aim will be to make something that doesn’t even come close to Christmas as am sure there will be a major assault of traditional Christmas food coming.
Also sadly not a sign of the molecular gastronomy kit so will most likely have to wait until after Christmas now.

On the way home I got some bread from the bakery, some mortadella from the deli and fresh tomatoes. Once home I made myself some sandwiches and a cup of tea, bliss.

Saturday:
When I went to my butcher I saw that he had morcilla, a Spanish blood pudding, delicious so I got some of that. I also got duck eggs, indulgent, rich and creamy and some very fab looking steaks.
The veg monger had irresistible cauliflower heads so I got one of those as well.
We started with soft boiled duck eggs, I removed the yolk and mixed it with some mayonnaise and caper berries, then pan friend morcilla crispy and served it together.

After that I made a cauliflower soup with a chilli infusion and as I had some morcilla left I put this on top of the soup as well. It worked a treat!

For main I had bought rib eye steaks. To go with them I made individual rösti made of potato and beetroot, a great combination, I pickled cucumber for some sharpness and for freshness I made a salad of peppers, green, yellow and red and served that with cherry tomato vinaigrette. It was lovely, the steak so tender and the flavours worked so well together.

After a break we had a cheeseboard and mice pies, they were best with the stilton but blue castello lends itself to almost everything as well.

All accompanied by well chilled Chablis and Chatenuf du Pape 2010.

Even if this was a very non Christmas dinner the Christmas spirit was with us and a little help from my favourite gin also helped!

Christmas around the corner and enjoy the last week! I know I will avoid the shops as much as it is possible with a few pressies still to be bought. Happy Christmas week!

Comments
9 Responses to “Steak dinner”
  1. Magda says:

    yummy, sounds fantastic your late steak lunch!:)
    Molecular gastromomy kit…oh my…?!:)
    Very best pre-Chrissy week xx

  2. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this site. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very hard to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and appearance. I must say you have done a amazing job with this. In addition, the blog loads super quick for me on Firefox. Exceptional Blog!

  3. Of course, what a magnificent blog and instructive posts, I definitely will bookmark your blog.Have an awsome day!

  4. Burton Asher says:

    Hey! awesome blog! I happen to be a daily visitor to your site (somewhat more like addict ) of this website. Just wanted to say I appreciate your blogs and am looking forward for more to come!

  5. Ahmed Kur says:

    But a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw great design and style .

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] here: Steak dinner « Petra08's Weblog AKPC_IDS += "17422,";Popularity: unranked […]



Leave a Reply

