Curry Chicken with pearl barley

A classic from my childhood is chicken with curry sauce and rice. I did a new take on this dish, as it is a Monday night I bought a rotisserie chicken and stripped the meat off the bones. I did pearl barley instead of rice, very nutritious and full of goodness. I added some chicken stock, carrot and a leek to add some extra flavour. I know pearl barley is a health food but I didn’t know it is a member of the grass family.

I did a curry sauce, based on semi skimmed milk, and to add some richness I added a tablespoon of Philadelphia light to add some richness and it worked perfectly.

I don’t need any dessert but I might have some of that delicious lemon drizzle cake. Perhaps I need to find that ultimate lemon drizzle cake recipe and make it work, even without the baster injector! (Like I used last time to no avail!)

There is a lot left so perfect for tomorrow when I know I will be home a little later, a quick fry up for dinner coming up!

Leave a Reply

