Veg loaded sloppy Joe

January is going past so fast! I haven’t managed to stick to all foods healthy but I am making an effort to choose as much fresh and lower in fat foods available and will continue throughout the year.

When I am short of time I love to make Sloppy Joe, it is lovely comfort food ready in less than 10 minutes.
For this one I wanted to stick to my January theme of making healthier foods. I used less mince beef than I would normally do, only 300 gr for two but I could easily have used 200gr instead without loosing the warming heartiness of the dish.

I also used
One carrot, peeled and chopped. The veg monger had some lovely English ones and it was worth paying a little extra as they taste lovely.
Two garlic cloves, peeled and chopped
One seller stick, chopped

This, together with the mince, was the base.
I fried the beef mince with only a burst of cooking oil, once it was browned I added the chopped up veg.

When everything had browned nicely I added
Beef stock
Tomato puree
A dash of Apple Fire Hot Sauce
Frozen peas
Board beans (frozen and shelled) from the allotment
Sweetcorn
One small can of baked beans
A handful of cherry tomatoes
Finally I added a table spoon of light crème fraiche and thickened it with some arrowroot dissolved in water.

All done, I toasted a slice of wholemeal bread and out the Sloppy Joe on top. To avoid extra carbs I did not use a bun and put the top on. It was lighter in taste but still filling and the cherry tomatoes added bursts of flavour.

Burns night dinner tonight with a Scottish friend I expect nothing light about it! Last time I had haggis I felt well and truly food pregnant for hours afterwards but it was so delicious it was worth it!

Comments
One Response to “Veg loaded sloppy Joe”
  1. Pretty nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. In any case I will be subscribing for your feed and I’m hoping you write once more very soon!

Leave a Reply

