Rhubarb stuffed chicken and Veg bake with bacon

After the Easter indulgence I felt it was time to go for lighter foods! I have problems buttoning my favourite jeans, that is a sure sign lighter foods are coming up.

I went to the allotment and it wasn’t only the forced rhubarb that was up but quite a lot of the non forced rhubarb as well, I think we are in for a rhubarb year!

I picked a few stalks and decided to use them to stuff the chicken. I would normally use a lemon and garlic but thought that rhubarb and rosemary would be an experiment instead and picked a twig of rosemary from the bush at the allotment.

It turned out very nice, the tartness of the rhubarb was great with the chicken and it took a gentle flavouring from the rosemary. I had chicken stock in the pan and brushed the chicken with oil to make it crispy and then just cooked it in the oven.

I served it with stir fry cabbage and steamed al dente cauliflower that was gently dusted with smoked, Spanish paprika. For gravy I took the remaining chicken stock, infused with juices from the chicken, rhubarb and rosemary and thickened it with a little corn starch.

It was a nice and healthy meal but still very satisfying. There was a bit of chicken left over that we had with a plain salad the day after, quick and easy dinner for the last day of Easter.

Back to work on Tuesday I needed something that would use up what I had in the fridge so I did a veg bake and used up the last of the bacon, a perfect combo, healthy except for the bacon.

You need:
Skimmed milk, brought to the point of boiling and with a chicken stock cube
Sliced potato
Sliced cauliflower
Spring onion
1 clove of garlic, crushed

Start and end with potato, salt and pepper each layer and when the last layer is done pour over the milk. On top of this I use breadcrumbs and a spray of oil but you can also use cheese.
Bake at 175C for 35 minutes.

I pan fried the bacon and placed it on top. It was really nice, a little runny compared to a richer bake but all the flavours were lovely and it was a great weeknight supper.

I am still on a quest to make food lighter and am sure there will be more recipes coming up!

Comments
2 Responses to “Rhubarb stuffed chicken and Veg bake with bacon”
  1. MaryMoh says:

    Mmmm…that looks delicious. I have not tried rhubarb even though I have been staying here in Scotland for quite a long while. How strange! I need to try it soon. Thanks very much for sharing your lovely recipe. Hope you have a lovely day. Mary

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Mary

      Glad you like it!” This one doesn’t provide a strong rhubab flavour, more just a note in the background! I love to make rhubarb and raspberry or strawberry crumble! Let me know how it goes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

