A warming dinner party on a cold April night

After a stint of super summery weather in March it now feels like November, it is rainy, windy and cold!

We had some friends over for a dinner and with the weather in mind I wanted to serve something that made you feel warm and looked after! I lit loads of candles and kicked the dinner off with an amuse bouche made of cauliflower and chorizo soup.

As a starter, as I didn’t have so much time I made prawns with garlic and spring onions and served it toasted bread. Our local baker sells a great bread that makes for the best toast and the seeds in it gives the dish an extra crunch.

Most of the food was possible to pre prepare and there was a minimum I had to do once the guests arrived, just perfect and lots of time to have a proper catch up! We started with white wine to go with the cauliflower soup and prawn starter. We had some Marques de la Villa, Malvasia, on recommendation from the wine shop and it was very nice!

For the main course we moved on to a red Cote du Rhone from 2009, delicious! To go with this I cooked a shoulder of lamb. I cured it beforehand and cooked it on low heat for a long time until it was tender and falling off the bone. I just placed the shoulder on the board and served it, it was so tender the meat came off with our forks. V

It was a great way to eat lamb and we ate all of it between us!

After that we were almost full but there was still some room for dessert! I bought salted caramel brownies from Paul A Young, a fantastic chocolatier in Soho and to go with them I made a strawberry and chilli jelly, raspberry coulis and fresh strawberries and raspberries, and caramel cream. Perfect to pick and mix and finish off the meal!

Comments
6 Responses to “A warming dinner party on a cold April night”
  1. akismet-52c87d672a494c8fd35a335c7a7799f0 says:

    That does look fabulous. I LOVE Paul A Young’s chocolates!

  2. akismet-52c87d672a494c8fd35a335c7a7799f0 says:

    That does look fabulous, I can’t work out how your comments work though as it seems to have me logged in via akismet!

    I could live in Paul A Young’s shop;)

  3. This sounds great, the cauliflower and chorizo soup sounds great. Who wouldn’t enjoy your pudding?

  4. Tony says:

    Wow! Thank you! I continuously needed to write on my blog something like that.
    Can I implement a part of your post to my site?

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. URL says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] There you will find 88725 more Infos: petra08.wordpress.com/2012/04/29/a-warming-dinner-party-on-a-cold-april-night/ […]…



Leave a Reply

