Cooking from the pantry, fridge and freezer

On my way home from work I was very hungry. So hungry I actually wanted to go straight home and not even stop at the shop! This meant I would have to make something quick and to cook from the pantry, fridge and freezer.

This weekend I got some organic frankfurters from the butchers. They are lovely and we had some for lunch and I was only left with two, not quite enough for a quick dinner but with some left over back bacon and with lots of veg and I made a “pantry stew” and served it with a piece of toast.

Last year was a great year for growing onions and I had so many to take care of! What we didn’t eat I placed in bunches to dry but I also wanted to do something else. I made caramelized onions and vacuum sealed them. It is perfect for stews and they still keep! I will do the same again this year.

For the stew I used

2 frankfurters

3 rashes of back bacon

2 celery sticks

2 cans of crushed tomato

frozen sweetcorn

frozen peas

2 chopped garlic cloves

2-3 tbs of caramelized onions

1/2 chicken veg stock

salt, pepper and paprika powder

I didn’t use any additional fat but placed the frankfurters in a cold pan and used the fat that came out to also fry the back bacon (I had trimmed it of all the fat) and the veg before adding the tomato. I let it all simmer for 10 minutes, added the sweetcorn and peas, simmered for 5 more minutes and it was ready! Great “fast food” from the pantry, fridge and freezer made in to a nice, even if not quite sophisticated, weeknight dinner!

Comments
One Response to “Cooking from the pantry, fridge and freezer”
  1. kdonkey1000 says:

    What a great idea for fast food, better than McDonalds any day.

Leave a Reply

