Kicking of the bank holiday weekend with salmon and lots of veg

Friday and a trip to the supermarket convinced me that salmon would be the way forward. I needed something quite quick and simple. Saturday we had our foodie friends over and the dinner is well planned out with lots of slow cooking and preparing. An easy and healthy dinner seemed best. I cook quite a lot of salmon but it is super quick.

I had some beetroot left over and wanted to have a salad to go with the salmon. I love the combination of avocado and grapefruit, the flavours complement each other, the grapefruit brightens up the avocado and the creaminess of the avocado goes so well with texture and flavour of the grapefruit. This time I added the beetroot and some spring onion as well.

I wanted to the dinner to be filling and could not resist a couple of Portobello mushrooms. I love all kinds of mushrooms and the meatiness of the Portobello just seemed like a good combination with the salmon. I also love how the Portobello stands up against other flavours and wanted to fill it with other vegetables to make it more interesting.

“Stuffed” Portobello mushroom
1 large tomato, seeds and core removed, roughly chopped
1 Celery stick finely chopped
1 crushed garlic clove
2 spring onions
Salt, pepper and a knob of butter

I baked it for 25 minutes in 175C and they came out perfect.

I wanted to have as much veg as possible and had some broccoli and pak choy as well. I steamed them together with chilli and garlic, nothing else needed and perfect when cooked with a drizzle of olive oil, sea salt and a twist of the pepper mill on top.

The salmon got a dusting of spices and went in to the frying pan. It was ready in five minutes. After that it was only a matter of assembling everything. No need for a sauce, the creaminess of the avocado and the Portobello mushroom brought enough to the dish. A very nice start to the bank holiday weekend!

Comments
6 Responses to “Kicking of the bank holiday weekend with salmon and lots of veg”
  1. kdonkey says:

    looks and absolutely gorgeous. I bet it was wonderfully fresh and light, getting food envy 🙂

  2. Chris says:

    Looks very delicious and for sure tasted also that way. I should try more things with avocado.

  3. petra08 says:

    I did feel very heatly 🙂 super eay to make and the avocado salad didn’t even need a dressing!

  4. This looks and sounds amazing. Could you send some through the post?

Leave a Reply

