Chicken and Chorizo lasanga

The roast chicken was more than enough for dinner so I stripped it, saved the garlic sauce and made a veg loaded chicken lasagna for dinner last night. I didn’t want a strong bechamel sauce so I used Manchego cheese and it works really nice with the chicken.

After an inspection of the allotment I could see that the cold weather had taken it’s toll on the veg. The only thing truly thriving seems to be the rhubarb, I missed quite a lot of asparagus, the spinach, beets and radishes had almost vanished or not come up at all and it seems some animal ate most of the swede! I hope the rest will take,especially with the nice weather forecast for the week! I did have a few broad beans that I used the lasagna!

Chicken, Chorizo and Veg lasagna

Chicken meat, cooked

1/2 Chorizo, cut in to strips and pan fried to release the oil, take the chorizo out and save the oil

Celery, fine cut

Carrot, fine cut

Onion, fine cut

Mushrooms, pre cook to get rid of the excess water

Broad beans, shelled

1 canned tomato

the remains of the chicken garlic sauce

Salt

Pepper

Paprika powder

Lasagna filling

For the bechamel sauce

Grated manchego cheese, 2 dl

1/2 pint milk

2 tbs butter

2 tbs flour

Salt

Pepper

Lasagna pasta.

I layered it starting with lasagna sheets as a base, chicken filling, lasagna sheets, chicken filling and bechamel sauce, lasagna sheets, the last of the chicken filling and last top with the bechamel sauce. Bake for 40 minutes and serve with a salad.

There was still a little chicken left so I made a sandwich spread mixing low fat natural yogurt, cheese curd and 3% creme fraiche with curry powder, pepper, a little salt and mixed it with the chicken. I added tomato and celery and put it in a wrap and took to work, it is easily 2 lunches. I could have frozen it but wanted to see how far a chicken would stretch. So chicken lasagna today as well, another roll tomorrow and no more chicken this week after that! One chicken, 6 portions and 2 lunches, I could have made the lasanga go further with more veg but 2 days in a row is more than enough but it was still nice.

Comments
2 Responses to “Chicken and Chorizo lasanga”
  1. k donkey says:

    these are two ingredients I wouldn’t consider for making a lasange, but it sounds lovely and must give it a try, minus the broad beans (yuck lol)

    • petra08 says:

      I have used chorizo before and it adds a nice spiciness and flavour, you can use chorizo saussage meat as well from just one if you can buy them. No broadbeans 🙂 it is funny how everyone has something, I just recently learnt to appreciate celery! for me okra still is at the bottom of the list no matter what is done to them!

Leave a Reply

