Paneer cheese and black eye bean curry

Do you ever get strange food cravings? Sometimes I get them for quite normal foods and all I have to do it to make sure I cook it. On holiday this year I was almost obsessing about lasagne and had to make it soon after I was back! This time it was back eyed beans, I can’t remember when I last ate any but my eyes fell on a can on the shelf and I knew I had to buy it.

Since I found paneer cheese in my local supermarket I just like it more and more. It is also in line with my ambition to cook more vegetarian dishes where paneer cheese is a perfect ingredient, it soaks up flavours without losing it’s character and works really well in a curry.

Paneer cheese curry

I raided the spice cupboard and choose:
Mustard seeds
Coriander seeds
Ground coriander
Cayenne pepper
Paprika powder
Tamarind, ground
Salt
Pepper

1 tbsp oil
1 chopped celery stick
½ chopped onion
2 spring onions, chopped
½ (orange) sweet pepper, chopped
½ paneer cheese, cubed
1 garlic clove, chopped
Lemon thyme
Juice of half a lemon
1 tbsp of Agave syrup
1 can of pomodore tomatoes
1 can of black eye beans (drained)

I heated the oil and added the spices to release the flavours. I then added the paneer cheese, celery, onion and the garlic clove. I stirred for 5 minutes and then added the tomatoes and let simmer for another 5 minutes. After that I added the remaining ingredients and let cook for 10 minutes and then it is ready to eat! Quick, easy and it hit the spot for black eye beans!

Comments
2 Responses to “Paneer cheese and black eye bean curry”
  1. k donkey says:

    With all these cravings are you sure you’re not pregnant 🙂 lol. Love the sound of this dish, must try it out. I’ve made paneer before and couldn’t believe how easy it was. mind you not as easy as going to the shop and buying it. Love reading your blog

    • petra08 says:

      ha ha I am very sure! 🙂 But it would have made more sense perhaps! You made Paneer cheese! Wow, I didn’t even think about that you could make it. I still have half (shop bought) left and was thinking it might be nice smoked. Glad you like the blog!!

Leave a Reply

