Quinoa pasta and my own Chopped challenge

Ever since the vegan challenge I have been thinking about different foods that would be possible, or not to cook. I decided to spend a lunch this week in the local health shop and see what ingredients are available for vegans. As this is a whole new area for me I bought some things at random that looked interesting and ended up with a mix of ingredients that would have made a basket in Chopped proud.

Chopped is a cooking program where 4 chefs start out being given a basket of ingredients that seemingly doesn’t make any sense together. They do a cook off and the “worst” dish is voted off until there is only one chef remaining, all this is also done on a time limit. I didn’t quite apply the time limit but this is what I ended up with in my basket:

Wasabi Kale

This is what the kale looks like, it is raw dehydrated kale chips

I also got almond milk, not sure what I was going to do with it but I wanted to try some.

Smoked tofu sounded interesting, this one had almonds and sesame seeds

There was also quinoa fusilli, an egg free pasta. I saw it in a cooking program but have never used it myself.

At home I had more of the no-muh cheese and the dates

I wanted to cook the pasta and here is my recipe for:

Creamy smoked tofu pasta (vegan) 2 portions

• ½ pack smoked tofu, cubed
• ½ cabbage head, sliced
• 1 celery stick cubed
• 1 chili, chopped
• 1 garlic clove
• 2 salad onions
• A few physalis, quartered
• 2 dl quinoa fusilli
• 1 stock cube
• 1 dl almond milk
• 2 sliced of no-muh cheese, cubed
• 1 date, chopped up

I wasn’t sure if the quinoa pasta had a lot of flavour so I boiled it with a veg stock cube, the celery, the chili and the cabbage for 20 minutes.
Whilst that was cooking I chopped up the rest of the ingredients and the cheese. When the pasta was done I drained it and took 3 dl of the cooking liquid and boiled it down for a few minutes and I then added some salt. Whilst it is boiling pan fry the tofu, add the crushed garlic and fry until the tofu is crispy and the garlic cooked. Add the rest of the ingredients and warm through. Then add 2 tsp of corn starch to the 1 dl of almond milk and added to the slightly reduced cooking liquid to thicken it. Pour over the pasta, scatter the crispy kale over and serve.

It turned out very nice and even if I ate quite a lot. I didn’t feel stuffed like I normally do when I have eaten pasta. I liked my own Chopped challenge and my vegan adventure has only just begun.

Comments
10 Responses to “Quinoa pasta and my own Chopped challenge”
  1. I know the Taifun Tofu… It’s the best tofu I’ve ever had!

  2. It must be very interesting to discover so many new products and flavours, I must admit that the kale chips do not look appealing to me, but if the flavour is good…is it very expensive to buy vegan products compare to no-vegan? Rita aka ritacooksitalian

    • petra08 says:

      hi Rita

      Some thingvs, like the de hydrated kale was expensive but actually it is cheaper in the long run. I love organic meat and fish and that is really expensive so I don’t really think it is, for me it is that I just really have to “think before I buy” 🙂 I will cook more things for sure!

  3. k donkey says:

    I was a vegetarian for 12 years and tried to be a vegan, but only lasted 6 weeks as I didn’t like the recipes I was trying, Wish I had tried this recipe as it’s sound and looks really tasty. Looking forward to reading your other vegan posts.

  4. Eve says:

    Hi P, I can see you are really up for some challenges by mixing random vegan ingredients even! I have to say it looks nothing less than a creamy, cheesy pasta dish! My favorite is Taifun basil tofu! Quinoa pasta is interesting, would love to try this myself! Dehydrated kale is such a better snack than crisps. It is actually called the ”beef” of a plant-based diet, probably one of the most nourishing leafy greens we should have. There are 7 billion people on the planet and 55 billion large animals that are raised for food each year making lots of waste and stretching resources. Which is why the famous author of The Omnivore’s Dilemma, Michael Pollan, suggested ”Meatless Mondays” in the first place. He says, ”By departing even modestly from the Western diet, we could reduce our chances of getting coronary heart disease by 80%, type 2 diabetes by 90%, and colon cancer by 70%.” I guess it’s not too much to say, each vegan meal we have is a planet saving act and it’s fun to see your interesting inventions! =)

    • petra08 says:

      hi Eve

      It is a great challenge, it just requires a whole new way of thinking and I love it! I will get more adventorous, especially as I learn more about for ex almond milk, I tried some and hmm… it was interesting but it worked so well with the chilli, a great surprise!
      Kale is one of my favourites and I grow lots at the allotment!
      More vegan dishes to be tried!

      P.

  5. Aseem says:

    Wow! Looks delicious and sounds amazingly healthy! I get alot of my plant based recipes from http://vegandad.blogspot.co.uk/ really tasty and simple meals!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Aseem

      glad you like it 🙂 thanks for the blog link I will try it out for sure! Vegan is new to me so am curious to learn more!

Leave a Reply

