A visit from two Swedish friends and a lot of food

The past week was busy as always but the highlight was that two of my Swedish friends coming over to visit! They picked one of the hottest days of the year to arrive, a good sign for sure. It was a few years since we last meet so I was really looking forward to spending some time with them. besides being good friends we also share the love of good food and what better way to spend time together?! I also saw the Olympic torch twice and got a little of the Olympic spirit even if it was lacking a bit the other day when I was in town and I was trying to get to a meeting on time!

I couldn’t take days off but my friends wanted sushi so I sent them to KuluKulu om Brewer street, it is a basic sushi place where all the effort is on the food, the sushi is always good, http://www.kulukulu.co.uk/.

I wanted to take them to one of my favourite restaurants, Cammasan in Kingston. They have by far the best Lemon Chicken I have ever eaten but I have never ordered anything I didn’t like. http://www.cammasan.co.uk/

We started with Thai fishcakes

Lemon Chicken

Another favourite is spicy aubergine, it is almost impossible to stop eating

Their spicy noodles are super light but very tasty

The ginger and spring onion beef, the beef is super tender and it has a lovely ginger bite

Every time I am there I can’t stop eating and it was the start of a very foodie weekend!

A lot of my Swedish friends in particular loves to go for a curry, I can say it is not possible to get a great curry in Sweden so off we went to my local, Mirnar, http://www.minartandoori.com/, and had a feast of Prawn Bhuna, Mattar Paneer, Naan Bread, Mushroom rice, Lamb Vindaloo, Chicken Tikka Masala and Chana Bahji, needless to say we all rolled out, very full and happy.

Sunday came way too fast and it was time to leave after lunch. After the big curry I did a very light brunch, I did a marrow and broad bean bake with Coleea cheese and whilst it was cooking I also threw some bacon in the oven to cook until crispy.

I crumbled the bacon and scattered over toasted spicy seeds and it was just what we needed after a heavy curry. All week we spent the time catching up on everything, joint friends, our own lives and different foods, it was so great!

Comments
2 Responses to “A visit from two Swedish friends and a lot of food”
  1. Spicy Aubergine sounds good to me!! The homemade baked marrow looks good too, do marrows grow on your allotment? Rita aka ritacooksitalian

    • petra08 says:

      hi Rita

      I love aubergine and this is a great one 🙂 Marrow is one of the easiest veg to grow and we have loads of them (one of the few veg that has really taken off this year!) and one of my favourites. Last year I did marrow jam that was delicious.

Leave a Reply

