Cross Asian inspired stir fry (vegan)

I spent another lunch in the health shop, there are actually two of them within walking distance from the office so next time I will go to the other place and see if they have different vegan foods. The one I go to does have quite the selection and I came home with another strange mix of ingredients and most things I didn’t know what they would taste like but I wanted to try them.

First out was Edam style Sheese, through the package it looked like cheese.

I was then intrigued by Tempeh, soy with hemp seeds, vacuum packed and strange looking.

Co Yo Coconut milk yoghurt seemed interesting, how could it be possible to make yoghurt without dairy and what would it taste like?

Browsing the shelves I came across raw Apricot Kernel butter, I know you can use the kernels for jams to add flavour but to make raw butter from them was just too much to resist!

Finally I could not resist buying some sushi ginger, not quite sure how it would fit but I love it!

I placed all the ingredients on the kitchen counter and had a roam around the fridge and freezer for veg and decided to roast some veg and make a wet stir fry (with sauce). The result worked really well but perhaps it was the most “vegan” tasting food I have made so far.

The Edam style Scheese I have to say was most likely one of the least appealing foods I have ever tasted. It had a slightly yeasty whiff and I can’t describe the taste but there is nothing I could do with it so I have to admit it went straight to the bin (with the organic, recyled waste).

The Tempeh didn’t really have much taste but added a nice texture to the dish.

The Coconut milk yogurt was sweet and had a very strong coconut flavour, when I tasted it I knew it would need chili to counter the sweetness and this is why I used the hot sauce, not a lot, just enough to create that background bite.

The raw apricot kernel butter had a fruity nuttiness that would provide a perfect base for the sauce.

Cross Asian cuisine style stir fry

Roasting veg

Marrow, de-seeded and in chunks
Aubergine, cut in chunks
Butternut squash, cut in smaller cubes (they take longer to cook)

I roasted them for 40 minutes in 180 C and while roasting for the stir fry I cut up

Iceberg lettuce, sliced
Carrot, cut julienne (match stick style)
Tempeh, cubed
Spring onion, sliced (for decoration)
Peas from the freezer
Date, fine cut, 1
Oil to pan fry

To make the sauce
Apricot Kernel raw butter (I used about 3 large tsps)
Stock cube (half)
Water, about 3 glasses
Hot sauce, 1 tsp
Salt
Co Yo Coconut Milk Yogurt, 2 large tsp
Sliced sushi ginger

Fry the cubed tempeh in a hot wok or frying pan in oil. The oil should be hot to create a surface. Fry all around and when almost done add the carrot. When the carrot has a little colour add some water and then the apricot kernel butter, stir around until melted, add more water if necessary, crumble the stock cube. Add the chopped date and the hot sauce and stir, add a bit more apricot kernel butter if necessary. Add a little salt, more water and the iceberg lettuce and peas.Let the lettuce wilt and stir in the Co Yo Coconut milk yogurt and sliced sushi ginger. Then add the roasted veg, gently stir until it is mixed, scatter over the spring onion and serve.

The hot and the sweet worked very well, the ginger added just that warm spicy bite as well making sure the dish stayed interesting. The verdict was that I can do it again and the only thing I would change is to add more peas and perhaps exchange the tempeh to firm silken tofu and toasted seeds instead. It tasted better than it looks! I will never buy any Scheese again but am happy to keep experimenting and go on exploratory trips to the health food shops!

Comments
2 Responses to “Cross Asian inspired stir fry (vegan)”
  1. Dear Petra this is very interesting, the combination of flavours sounds pretty adventurous to me, but I always like dish which mix sweet and hot! Rita aka ritacooksitalian

    • petra08 says:

      hi Rita, it did feel slightly odd but fun as well to taste and imagine the flavour combinations but salt is essential as it did bring out all the flavour. Maybe it is the soy that needs it so much.

Leave a Reply

