Chicken soup

Sometimes it is so nice to eat light and simple foods. Last Friday night we had the Korean BBQ and it was quite full on and I followed up with another big meal on Saturday so by the time Sunday arrived I was ready for a nice and light dinner (the trousers were still slightly tight this morning!).

I wanted to make a light chicken soup as I had lots of veg at home to use up. Normally I love a big Sunday dinner with chicken or a roast and all the trimmings but I felt I had to have something fresh. Soup is a favourite and it is so easy as you just throw in what you have at home and it is pretty fail proof! I was so lazy I didn’t even make the stock but used stock cubes, it worked as well!

Chicken soup (4 portions)

• 2 chicken breasts cut in chunks
• 1 Tolouse sausage
• ½ small white cabbage, sliced
• 1 carrot, julienned
• 1 potato, cut in half and sliced
• 1 leek
• 1 celery stick
• 2 chicken stock cubes (3 if needed)
• 2 tbsp soy sauce
• Asparagus
• 1 large piece of ginger, peel on sliced
• 1 ½ litre of water
• 1 small can of sweet corn
• 3 sliced spring onions

Boil the water and add stock cubes and the sliced ginger and add the chicken, reduce the heat to simmer and leave the chicken breasts in for about 7 minutes.
Remove the chicken pieces and add the veg, everything except the sweet corn, bring to boil and simmer for 10 minutes.
Shred the chicken by hand or cut up in chunks, take out the sausage and slice.
Then add the sweet corn, chicken, sausage and warm through for 5 minutes, add the spring onion and serve with bread butter and a nice cheese.

Comments
4 Responses to “Chicken soup”
  1. Nice soup! Perfect for today (it’s pretty cool here in London!!). I should try to add ginger and soy sauce to my chicken soups too. Rita aka ritacooksitalian

    • petra08 says:

      hi Rita

      I love ginger in broths, it just adds a little warmth. I used to soy to be a little healthier and not use so much salt 🙂

  2. k donkey says:

    this looks wonderfully fresh and I bet it’s really tasty. chicken soup is a favourite of mine and will have to try this out. another great recipe from a very enjoyable website

    • petra08 says:

      hi 🙂

      glad you like it, sometimes simple is the best. But sometimes nice to let the food take it’s time and experiment! There is not enough time for everything I want to cook!

Leave a Reply

