Lunch at the Edinburgh Mal and back home for dinner

I went to Edinburgh today for a meeting. It was a little overdue and when I travel over the day it is always nicer to meet over lunch if this suits, otherwise I am almost always stuck with some uninspired airport food. I landed this morning in a beautiful and sunny Edinburgh, I could not have picked a better day to come! The only sad thing is that I didn’t have time to stay and go to the Fringe that is on now.

The meeting was at the Malmaison, Edinburgh. It is a beautiful hotel and the food was lovely. Dianne and Gemma, with whom I had the meeting, didn’t mind at all that I took pictures of everything. I did check beforehand! We covered everything essential and had a great lunch.

One of the starters was Classic smoked salmon blini, herb crème fraîche, the salmon melted in my mouth and was just amazing. I think maybe Scotland is a better place to eat salmon than England, just maybe 🙂

The other one was hot chicken skewers, chili jam, soy & ginger dipping sauces, very tender chicken and a perfect starter portion.

As a main we all went for different dishes.

Salmon & cod fish cake, spinach & herb sauce – I was assured it tasted just as good as it looked!

Thai green king prawn curry, jasmine rice, it looked and smelled amazing

I could not resist a Greek salad with a twist, with halumi instead of feta cheese and watermelon, delicious, the flavours were very clean and fresh.

It was a lovely lunch, perfect portion sizes, I am not too keen on too large portions and I would definitely recommend a lunch or dinner here.
When all was discussed, we had caught up on everything I headed back to London and landed just in time to go home and cook dinner. It wasn’t quite as sophisticated as my lunch but just as satisfying. Sometimes I want to eat foods that feels comfortable and this was just the day. I picked up some organic frankfurters at the butchers the other day and they are so nice. I did a “sausage stroganoff”, one of my childhood favourites. It was even better as I have a Swedish friend over who also likes it! We ate it with brown rice and a heritage tomato, onion and feta cheese salad.

Sausage Stroganoff, this is a recipe where everyone has their own way of making it so this is my lower fat version and this is enough for 4 people

4 frankfurter sausages, cut in to strips
2 cloves of garlic
2 tbsp tomato puree
ketchup
milk
arrowroot (3 tsp)
paprika powder
1 chicken stock cube
pepper
1 tsp hot sauce
chopped parsley
1 small can of sweetcorn

Add the frankfurters to a cold pan and heat up, as the pan warms the sausage will release fat, if not enough add a little oil when hot before adding the garlic to the browned sausage strips. Then add the spices and the tomato purée and stir for a minute or two. Then add the stock cube, milk, sweet corn and ketchup to taste and let simmer until the flavours integrate. Then add the arrowroot to a small amount of cold water, dissolve and add to the stroganoff, bring to boil and when thickened add parsley.

Serve with the rice and the tomato salad, a fairly light meal and it tasted just as good as I remember from my childhood but it is not very photogenic!

Comments
2 Responses to “Lunch at the Edinburgh Mal and back home for dinner”
  1. Great Petra! I love the contrast between your sophisticated lunch and simple (but delicious) dinner. I should try the frankfurter dish, my kids would love it!! I love the Thai green king prawn curry dish…..

    • petra08 says:

      hi Rita, it was quite fun with the differences (and my very non photogenic sausage dish!) I loved the “Greek” salad but yes would have liked both the fishcake and the curry! I think I just have to go back! I hope your kids will like it as much as I did when I was little if you make it!

Leave a Reply

