Fast food – salmon with Asian flavours

Sometimes it is so satisfying to create a complicated dish, mulling over the ingredients and the cooking technique for ages and then bring it all together. Sometimes it is equally satisfying to pull one of your favourite recipe out and cook something quick, easy and you just know it the result will be nice.

I got some salmon and decided to cook a dish I haven’t cooked in a long time. I can’t even remember where I got the recipe the first time and I have tweaked it since so I wont put down any amounts.

Salmon with Asian flavours, oven 175C

Salmon, fillet or loin (cooks faster)
Oyster sauce
Sweet chilli sauce (quite a lot)
Soy sauce
Fish sauce
Grated fresh ginger
Crushed garlic
Nouri, hydrated
Spring onions, chopped

Place the salmon in an oven proof dish. Mix all the ingredients except the spring onion and pour over, make sure all of the salmon is covered. Put in the oven and bake for 15 minutes. Once ready add the spring onions and serve. We ate the salmon with savoy cabbage from the allotment and it was ready in about 20 minutes.

While the salmon is cooking I toasted and spiced some seed mix for texture and added flavour and set aside. Once the seeds were toasted I added some oil to the pan and stir fried savoy cabbage. When it started to wilt I added some water, a little low-fat cream (2 tbsp), salt and pepper and when cooked through I sprinkled the spiced seed mix and it was ready.

There is more and more produce from the allotment coming and we picked the last lot of broad beans now just waiting to be shelled, lots more marrow coming and next weekend I have time set aside to make some marrow jam and it is also time to go pick blackberries!

Comments
8 Responses to “Fast food – salmon with Asian flavours”
  1. Jacqueline @How to be a Gourmand says:

    What a delicious salmon dish Petra. Is that pine nuts you are using in the photo above?
    Marrow jam sounds very creative- I wonder how you make that!

  2. This sounds fantastic, I’d love this as a quick meal. I am also very intrigued by your marrow jam…will you be putting a recipe up?

    • petra08 says:

      Salmon is one of the best fast foods 🙂
      I will have a think about the marrow jam, but marrow is an amazing vegetable!

  3. Yummy! Last Sunday I baked salmon with oyster sauce, it was delicious but now that I’ve read this recipe I know that somenthing special was missing. Back to the shop to buy salmon (tomorrow Sat, it is my big weekly shopping day). I’ve all the other ingredients….no marrow jam of course.

    • petra08 says:

      I love salmon 🙂 good luck. If I have time will make some marrow jam this weekend 🙂 keep an eye out. Apparently glorious weather all weekend, enjoy 🙂

      • Amazing, tasty sauce for salmon Petra!!! I baked a couple of fillets for my husband and I last night and they were delicious. My husband was very impressed !!! He loves Thai flavours!!

      • petra08 says:

        hi Rita

        oh am so glad you liked it! 🙂 it is so easy!
        The cheese was a little warm and hmm, got slightly warmer me carrying it around but it still tasted amazing when I got home! Have to track it down and get some more!! One of the allotment neighbours has some fab looking courgette flowers and I wished it was ours and would have tired your courgette flower with anchovy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

