Marmite roast chicken with Bulgur Wheat stuffing

When I have time I sometimes just can’t resist a roast chicken, it is such perfect weekend food (Sunday dinner). It is lovely to tuck in to but equally nice with all the left overs, making for at least one more meal if not more!

I like marmite, not too much but every now and then on a slice of toast. The other day I had some and wanted to try and cook with it, am sure it must have been done before! It has a really nice and salty quality that I love and I thought I would use it for my roast chicken.

Before I started to cook I did a snack of watermelon and halumi cheese. At first I wanted to do a dressing but it wasn’t necessary, I simply did a few twists of the pepper mill.

I wanted to cook everything at the same time in the oven and I wanted edible stuffing. Normally I add citrus and garlic but I wanted the stuffing to provide the carbs for this meal. I also had 2 beautiful beetroots from the allotment that I baked at the same time as the chicken cooked in the oven with salt and bay leaves.

Bulgur Wheat stuffing, just enough for two but can easily be increased and cooked below the chicken in the oven

½ dl bulgur wheat
1 dl chicken stock
4 chestnut mushrooms, chopped and precooked with some soy sauce
1 nectarine
1 orange, segmented
Leek, finley sliced
2 cloves of garlic
1 fig finley chopped
Salt, pepper, cayenne pepper, paprika powder

I mixed softened butter with marmite and smothered the chicken. It was already tied up so I couldn’t get under the skin and instead placed it all on the skin.

Once the butter was added I stuffed the chicken and placed it on a roasting tray. Below the chicken I added some soy sauce and chicken stock to keep it moist. I also put the giblets in there to cook in the stock and soy sauce.

I started on high heat, 225C for 30 minutes and then cooked it on 180C for an hour and it came out perfect.

The beetroot and the chicken was ready at the same time, I put the remaining stock in the oven proof dish in a sieve and used it as a sauce. With the stuffing it was a complete meal. The marmite worked really well and marmite and chicken are very happy together.

Comments
5 Responses to “Marmite roast chicken with Bulgur Wheat stuffing”
  1. Kdonkey says:

    sorry, but this would come under my “dirty food” label – Marmite is almost as bad as hard boiled egss – lol like the bulgur wheat…..

    • petra08 says:

      Ha ha you might be right! But it worked! The bulgur wheat was great and will for sure do that again! Re the marmite might to back to the toasted sesame seed oil 🙂

  2. Sarah says:

    I love marmite but generally stick to it on toast – I’m never sure how overpowering a flavour it would be to cook with. Interesting recipe though. I “like” Marmite on Facebook and they come up with all sorts of weird and wonderful suggestions on how to cook with it.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Sarah

      I just wanted to try somthing new, it worked out nice, I think I wouldn’t put marmite in the stuffing! 🙂

  3. I’m not familiar with marmite or peanut butter, like a traditional Italian I use nutella or jam on my toast! I’ve tried once and I was not impressed, maybe this is the way to give marmite a chance: smearing the chicken with it.

Leave a Reply

