Beetroot and slow cooked beef

The allotment is now bursting with at least some of the veg and as always, everything is done at the same time! I have managed to use up 2 large marrows and finally made marrow jam! It works very nice with pork but today I ate some on toast and that was lovely as well! Every year I find it so amazing that the marrow can be “transformed” in to the very nice looking yellow jam.

I also made 2 different kinds of hot sauce. One I have made before and I have to say am eating with caution, the other one I decided to try by doing what I always advice anyone against, I stuck a spoon in to the sauce and tried it. I quickly produced a clean spoon that I covered with honey and ate it after confirming that the hot sauce is HOT!

Friday I stopped at the butchers on the way home. I really wanted something that I could marinate for a long time and then slow cook for Sunday dinner. After some discussions the butchers suggested shin of beef. It is a very cheap cut that I had never cooked with before. Perfect for long, slow cooking! When I got home I made a marinade for the beef.

Beef hot pot for 4 people, cooking time about 3 hr

marinade

  • Lemon Grass, roughly cut and slightly bashed
  • Garlic, crushed
  • 1 chilli, sliced
  • Rapseed oil, enough to cover
  • A dash of soy sauce
  • Pepper, a few twists of the pepper mill
  • Shin of beef, cut in to chunks, I used 3 slices
  • Carrot, sliced
  • Celery sliced
  • Leek, sliced
  • Potatoes, baby new quartered
  • Veg to add later
  • ½ head of Savoy cabbage
  • 1 Courgette, cut in to chunks
  • Xaoxing rice wine
  • Soy sauce
  • Water

After my hot sauce and marrow jam session I cleaned the kitchen up and then turned my attention to the beef. The marinade smelled lovely and I dusted the beef with corn flour before browning.

I had just browned all of the beef, added some veg to get a slight colour when I added some xaoxing rice wine to get to the flavours in the bottom of the pan when it simply cracked! Luckily the pan was almost empty but it was on my oven proof pan so I needed to change the plan and cook the hot pot on top of the cooker instead of in the oven.

I quickly heated another pan, added the veg and browned meat, some xaoxing rice wine and soy sauce, water and let it simmer undisturbed for 60 minutes. I then added the savoy cabbage and let simmer for an additional 40 minutes. I then added the courgette and let simmer for another 40 minutes. Test the meat and it is ready when fall apart tender, it might need a bit of extra cooking time. The meat will become very tender and serve with pickle beetroots and a nice bottle of red.

Another veg that is ready and grown in abundance is beetroot. We picked 2 beautiful ones and I decided to make a beetroot starter. I boiled the biggest beetroot. If you just rinse and boil them whole you can just gently peel off the skin and will use more of the beetroot but it takes about 40-60 minutes depending on size. I then sliced it and added a little lemon dressing.

I took the smaller beetroot raw, peeled and grated it. Beetroot and cayenne pepper goes very well together so I took some seed mix made from sesame seeds, sunflower and pumpkin seeds and toasted them in a dry pan. Once they started to toast and release their oil I added some cayenne pepper and set aside to cool.
I placed the raw grated beetroot on top of the sliced cooked one, added some more lemon dressing and then sprinkled the toasted seeds on top.

I now had the earthy beetroot, the tang from the lemon and some gentle heat from the cayenne but there was still something missing and I have some gorgeous Oxford Blue and I added chunks of this on top. The humble beetroot had been transformed and I will make this again!

A very productive Sunday in the kitchen, I just wish I had more time more often!

 

I have entered this to Javelin Warriors Made with Love Mondays

Comments
4 Responses to “Beetroot and slow cooked beef”
  1. sebbyholmes says:

    Wow marrow jam? I have never come across this before but will definitely give it a go, it looks great. thanks for the inspiration

    • petra08 says:

      It transforms and takes up a lot of flavour, ginger and or lemon are great with marrow! I eat it instead of apple sauce somethimes but on toast as well.

  2. Wow, that’s a lot of marrow! I love the color – so yellow and bright… I’m also so pleased you were able to share something with beets this week – it’s very original and I’m sure also quite tasty. Thanks so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

