10 minute superfood dinner

Like so many days on my way home from work I was really hungry and not too keen on going to the shops. For a minute I even contemplated a take away but changed my mind in the end in favour of a salad. A salad would be quicker and much healthier. I wanted something fresh and after roaming around in the fridge I got:

Lettuce
2 carrots
1 beetroot (raw)
Garlic marinated fresh Anchovies
Parmesan cheese
3% fat creme fraiche
1 clove of garlic
salt & pepper

I placed one lettuce leaf on the plate and shredded another one as a base. I grated the carrot first and then the beetroot, it doesn’t matter in what order but beetroot will colour everything in its way and I wanted the colours to come through.

Beetroot is a great source of antioxidants and nutrients, including magnesium, sodium, potassium and vitamin C, carotenoids, flavonoid anti-oxidants,vitamin A and betaine. Carrot is a great source for Thiamin, Niacin, Vitamin B6, Folate and Manganese, and a very good source of Dietary Fiber, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Vitamin K and Potassium. Of course anchovy is a great source of Calcium, Iron and Phosphorus, and a very good source of Protein, Niacin and Selenium. I was in for a healthy dinner! Read more about nutirents here http://nutritiondata.self.com

I added crushed garlic to the creme fraiche and mixed with salt and pepper. I placed the grated beetroot on top of the lettuce and the grated carrot on top of the beetroot, and then a dollop of the garlic dressing and placed the anchovies on top. The last touch was to grate some parmesan cheese on top. This particular Parmesan is aged and organic, I love to eat chunks of it! However no chunks today as I only wanted a hint of cheese, as well as to keep it healthy.

The beetroots that we grow are sweeter and juicer than the shop bought ones, I guess it is also because they are so fresh. Last year I made pickle beetroot and perhaps I should pickle some at the weekend but this year I will eat more of the tasty raw beets!

Comments
4 Responses to “10 minute superfood dinner”
  1. I start to love beetroots too. They are delicious and perfect for salads. Garlic marinated fresh Anchovies??? I’m an anchovies fan, but I found this flavour a little bit too much…is mackerel a good alternative??uhm maybe. Ciao

    • petra08 says:

      🙂 God morning Rita
      I love the anchovies but realise it might not be for everyone and am sure mackerel, salmon or tuna are all good alternatives, smoked or simply cooked. I actually didn’t feel like cooking aything at all so it had to be cold ingredients!

  2. I love meals like this formed out of leftovers and end up being delicious! Good for you for not going for the takeaway!

Leave a Reply

