Raw beetroot soup and baked tofu

With the tomato plants producing ripe tomatoes faster than we can eat them, I wanted to find ways to make them last. After some searching I came across tomato powder on the Foods For Long Life. I don’t have a dehydrator but it works just as well in the oven and it has bags of flavour! Of course ever since I made it I have been thinking of how to use it.

Oven dried tomatos

I have been thinking for a while about making baked tofu and how I could add as much flavour as possible and what better than to try my tomato powder!

Baked Tofu, 2 portions – oven 175 C

1/2 pack of firm tofu
2 heaped tsp of tomato powder
1/2 tsp smoked paprika powder
Parsley, chopped
salt & cracked black pepper
In a dry pan roast sesame seeds and black mustard seeds

Mix it all with good olive oil and place on top of the tofu in an oven proof dish. Place in the oven for 5 minutes, the cover with tin foil and turn down to 100 C.

The allotment is generously making the beetroots grow and grow. My favourite this year is to eat them raw, I can’t remember the name, or find the packet but it is a heritage kind that is very sweet in flavour. We picked a few yesterday and I wanted to make something of them for dinner. We gave some to our friend Eve and she made beet root juice with lemon and ginger. Inspired by this I decided to make raw beetroot soup to go with the tofu.

Raw beetroot soup, 2 portions

4 beetroots, grated fine
3 Spring onions, sliced finely, save the white and chop the rest more coarsely
Ginger, fine grated
1/2 lime, juice only
1 dl water
2 tbsp good olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

Garnish
The sliced white of the spring onion
toasted mixed seeds
chopped parsley and mint

Place the grated beets, ginger, spring onion except the white, the lime juice, water and olive oil in the blender. Whizz until quite smooth, add salt and pepper to taste and pour in bowls. Add the garnish and serve.

Slice the baked tofu and serve with the beetroot soup.

The tomato flavour really did come through and it mixed very well with the smoked paprika and the spices as well as the slight crunch from the toasted sesame and mustard seeds. It was packed with flavours and afterwards they lingered in the nicest possible way. I need to make more tomato powder and will make raw soup again!

I have entered this to Made with Love Mondaysย ย and Herbs on Saturday

Comments
12 Responses to “Raw beetroot soup and baked tofu”
  1. Eve says:

    You are a genius! I am going to try these two recipes today!! Thank you P! xoxo

  2. Karen says:

    Absolutely amazing recipes and I love the look of that Beetroot soup! Thanks for adding this post to my Herbs on Saturday. Karen

  3. What a great way to use up tomatoes and I love the beetroot soup – so beautiful! Thank you so much for sharing!

  4. Dear Petrra everytime I go to the allotment I think about your blog and how many yummy recipes I will cook with my fresh produce! Thank you for ispiring me. PS I really like the bright colour of your beetroots. RITA aka RITACOOKSITALIAN

    • petra08 says:

      hi Rita

      am glad I can! I love to grow veg but sometimes it is a challenge to think of what to do with the produce when it all comes at once! The beet soup worked out really well ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I love baked tofu and your soup looks gorgeous with a beautiful colour.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Petra at Petra08′s Weblog โ€“ RAW BEETROOT SOUP AND BAKED TOFU – “I have been thinking for a while about making baked tofu and how I could add as much […]



Leave a Reply

