Roast lamb with liquorice root and coca cola

A few days ago I read an article about venison and the chef used liquorice root. It wasn’t a recipe more just thoughts and ways he used it.  I was really excited when I found some in my local health food shop and bought a bag for today’s lamb that I bought yesterday at my Friday visit to the butcher.

I also picked up some exciting news that there is an upcoming sausage cook off between all the butchers (who wants to participate) in Richmond! Hopefully I will be able to cover this here as I love good sausage. Liquorice root has a very distinct, sort of sweet taste and it is very aromatic so I was very careful with how I used it. I wanted it to be a background note to complement the other food, not take over.

First I wanted to use it in the dry rub for the lamb and created a spice mix with the liquorice root.

Liquorice root dry spice mix

Celery seeds
Star anise
Black pepper corns
Green pepper corns
Seasalt
Liquorice root

I used the spice grinder to get everything smooth and then rubbed the shoulder of lamb before placing in the oven for 4½ – 5 hours on 120C.

Once that was in the oven I started on the sauce and the starter

 

I decided to make a veg soup to start with inspired by the Leek and Potato soup for the blog Anyoneforseconds.

This is different but I kept potato and leek as the base for the soup.

Leek, potato and cabbage soup

  • Leek, sliced
  • Potato, diced
  • Savoy cabbage, sliced
  • Garlic, chopped
  • 1 chilli, whole with a cut along the chilli
  • Veg stock
  • To taste, soy sauce and white pepper

Bring to boil and simmer until all the veg is soft. I cut a hole in the chilli and added it to the soup to infuse a hint of background heat whilst the soup was simmering. I also used fresh bay leaves, I do prefer them to the dried and luckily one of my neighbours (who was coming for dinner) have a big bay leaf tree that I can pick from.

Once the veg are cooked I removed the chilli, keep I if you want it hotter and place in the blender and mix. I then returned it to a pot and set aside to gently be reheated before serving.

I served with with rolls, butter and shavings of my favourite Italian hard cheese, it has lots of flavour and generous veins of truffle, a small piece goes a long way! It was even better washed down with a nice and cool white Rioja.

Liquorice root and coca cola syrup

  • Liquorice root, about 3 -4 cm
  • Red wine, 2 dl
  • Sugar, ½ dl
  • Coca cola, 2 dl (full fat)

Bring to boil and reduce until it there is about ½ dl and the consistency is syrupy. Take out the Liquorice root and set aside.

The butcher gave a a bone of lamb and there was a little meat on it and I could not resist making some stock for the sauce and the meat that was on the bone was too good to not share so I picked the bone clean and added the lamb meat on the side and served with the soup.

I used quite a few bay leaves, liquorice root and veg with the lamb to create the stock and I used the syrup and the stock as the base for the sauce.

I made a roux and added the stock, adding more water  if necessary, then the syrup, not too much, a little at the time or the sauce will be too sweet. Add salt and pepper and a dash of cream and set aside. When it is time to eat add the cooking juices from the lamb and serve.

The slow roasted lamb was falling off the bone tender and the spice rub was a great balance to the lamb itself.

I wanted the dinner to have a traditional touch so I made mash potatoes, A healthier version with stock and milk as a base and only a little added cream last minute for flavour, spiced with salt and pepper.

I also steamed some marrow and savoy cabbage.

There was quite a lot left over and I think perfect for tomorrow’s dinner!

It is not often that I bake but if I do it is usually flourless chocolate cakes. Flour and me seems somehow to not be compatible, it gets everywhere and I most often manage to cover, not only most of the kitchen but also myself so it doesn’t happen very often that I bake. This time I made a flourless Nutella and chocolate cake

It is very light but moist and I wanted something to work with all that chocolate so I made a vanilla and lemon whipped cream.

I am not much of a cake person, but it was very nice and using dark chocolate made sure the cake was not too sweet!

I have entered this to Javelins great Made with Love Mondays!

Comments
3 Responses to “Roast lamb with liquorice root and coca cola”
  1. Robert jones says:

    That looks scrumptious Petra! I’m actually going to be ambitious and attempt this masterpiece!

    • petra08 says:

      hey Robert

      am sure you will love it! Not sure but perhaps you can buy ground liqourice root, it would be easier for sure but it worked really well! Let me know how it goes! 🙂

      P.x

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] It looks like you ran afoul of something with wicked claws – Cheshire Cat and Asian Chicken Tacos with Sweet Cucumbers and Mint Yogurt DipThe Search For Princess Lunara Solutions by Anne Sandanam, Pink Poogle ToyRoast lamb with liquorice root and coca cola […]



Leave a Reply

