Chickpea and goats cheese veg stew

After quite a lot of food this weekend I felt the need for something healthy. I went to the shop to buy spinach, they didn’t have any so I got a bag of watercress, spinach and rocket leaves.  I decided to do a veg stew based on chickpeas, paneer cheese and the greens.

I wanted to try something new and it turned out to become a chickpea and goats cheese stew. Dinner was ready in about 30 minutes including some prepping time. The ingredients list looks long but it was basically a stew of veg I had at home and they worked really well together and am sure easily replaced.

Chickpea and goats cheese veg stew

  • Mustard seeds
  • Ground coriander
  • Ginger, julienned
  • Chickpeas
  • Watercress, rocket and spinach
  • Butternut squash, diced
  • Marrow, diced
  • Cabbage, shredded
  • Paneer cheese, diced
  • 1 chilli, de seeded and sliced
  • Chickpeas, 1 can
  • 1 bag of spinach, watercress and rocket
  • Goats cheese, I used Monte Enebro
  • Pepper, diced
  • Spring onion, sliced
  • Water
  • A dash of soy sauce
  • Salt, Pepper

Heat a little oil with the mustard seeds until they start to pop, add the rest of the spices, butternut squash, marrow and shredded cabbage. Add enough water to just cover and let simmer for 20 minutes.

Then add the rest of the ingredients except the spring onions and let simmer. Taste and see if more spices are needed and everything should be ready after 10 minutes. Sprinkle over the spring onions and serve.

I was planning on making the veg stew vegan at first but decided to use the paneer cheese and  as it was almost done something was still missing, I was having a nibble of goat cheese when I tasted the stew and I knew I had to add some! I melted some goats cheese and it was the missing link! The goats cheese made it smoother and more creamy, I didn’t use a lot but a little went a long way.

Comments
2 Responses to “Chickpea and goats cheese veg stew”
  1. Kdonkey says:

    this sounds lovely and fresh

Leave a Reply

