Seafood starter, chestnut stuffed roast chicken and wild apple pistachio crumble

I saw some chestnuts weekend before last and promptly wanted to make roast chicken with chestnut stuffing. Every year we forage for chestnuts in a place where there are so many we could spend a whole week picking them and there would still be plenty more! Last Sunday I thought we should go there and get some for the stuffing but I think we were a little early. There were some ripe but the majority was still on the trees and I think I need to come back again in a few weeks. Either way I got just enough for stuffing one chicken and it was a beautiful walk. I am glad I did find enough as I had also invited a friend to dinner last Saturday!
I was running a little late and didn’t want my friend to be hungry whilst waiting for the chicken to roast so I baked some figs as a snack.
Baked Fig
  • 1 fig/pp cut across, almost through 
  • Goat cheese, sliced thickly and placed on top of the fig 
—————
  • Runny honey 
  • Balsamic glaze 
  • Pepper (be generous)

When we had the fig I started on the chicken to get it in the oven.

Roast chicken with chestnut stuffing, oven 200C for 30 mins and then 175C for 1 hr

Chicken stuffing

  • Bulgur Wheat, cooked 
  • Chestnuts, peeled and roasted 
  • Macadamia nuts, roasted 
  • 1 lime, zest and juice 
  • Salt & pepper to taste 
  • 1 lemon cut in half
I mixed the ingredients except the chicken and filled the cavity, sealing it with the lemon halves. I brushed the chicken with oil and added chicken stock and some soy sauce to the roasting pan before placing it in the oven.

Whilst the chicken was cooking I made the starter.

Seafood on pumpkin mash

Pumpkin mash, Oven 175C
  • Pumpkin
  • Salt & Pepper 
  • Rapeseed oil (I used Yellow Mellow)
  • A hint of cinnamon
Cut open and de seed the pumpkin. Cut in to strips and place in a roasting pan. Sprinkle over the oil and add the spices. Roast until soft, between 25-35 minutes.
When the pumpkin is cooking bring beef or chicken stock to the boil, add a chilli, roughly sliced with seeds and about 4 cm of ginger, peel on but sliced. Put the lid on and let stand until the pumpkin is ready, the stock will infuse with the chilli and ginger.
Once the pumpkin is cooked strain the stock. Cut the peel of the pumpkin and place in the blender, add stock, 1 dl at the time in order for it not to be too runny and whizz until smooth.
Seafood
  • Scallops
  • Scallop roe 
  • Squid, cleaned and sliced 
Add salt and pepper to the scallops, I took the roe off and cooked it in the same frying pan but separate as it is not to everyone’s taste. I added salt and pepper to the squid. It didn’t take long to pan fry in a mix of butter and oil.
I garnished with crispy bacon and chive before serving as a starter.

I prepared the side dishes, roast butternut squash, freshly picked from the allotment along with runner beans, kholrabi and some cavolo nero.

The last of the raspberries looked irresistible in the sunshine.
The runner beans are finally coming along.
I made roast butternut squash to go with the chicken;
Roast buttternut squash, roast with the chicken in 175C for about 40 minutes
  • Butternut, peeled, deseeded and cut
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Coriander powder
  • Paprika powder 
  • Salt & pepper
  • Rapeseed oil , 2-3 tbsp
  • Thyme

Take the cut up butternut and place in a plastic bag. In a small bowl mix the oil and spices and the pour in to the bag. Blow a little air in to the bag and shake until all of the butternut is covered. Roast in the oven.

I also did roast potatoes, brushed with oil, baked on salt with rosemary, delicious with any Sunday meal.
I just steamed some cavolo nero and beans to go with the meal. It was quite a big meal but whilst out foraging we also found some wild apples that I could not resist. The whole tree was filled with gorgeous apples and we picked a bag full.
The best apples were of course on the side of the tree hiding behind a bramble path, thorny things!
We also picked rosehips, a little early still but the bushes are full and I will go back and pick more to make rosehip jelly.
There were also some sloes that will become lovely sloe gin, it will be ready just in time for Christmas.
We ate quite a lot of the chicken before I took a pic but it was a lovely dinner and I loved breaking up the week by cooking a proper home made meal, not only for us but also a travelling friend who made time to stop by. The chicken was juicy and the stuffing just lovely. It was a very wholesome and satisfying meal.
The apples were so nice I could not resist making an apple crumble. I had a lot of pistachios so I roasted some in a pan and chopped them up. They added some crunch and the nutty pistachio flavor, perfect with foraged apples.
Apples being prepared with butter cinnamon and sugar for the apple crumble.
Pistachio wild apple crumble, served with crème anglais
We could not eat anything more after this but had some more wine, a lot of laughs and just a very lovely time.
This blog has been entered to Javelin Warriors Made with Love Mondays
Comments
3 Responses to “Seafood starter, chestnut stuffed roast chicken and wild apple pistachio crumble”
  1. It all sounds so wonderful, Petra! I think I love the chicken stuffing the most, though. Although I do love pumpkin and butternut squash, so those sounded delicious as well… Thanks so much for sharing this feast with Made with Love Mondays!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] well. It is lovely to have time for a lingering Sunday lunch so I thought we might have a nibble of baked figs with the drinks. we had some delicious champagne with […]



Leave a Reply

