Wild rabbit pistachio curry

This week I have been wanting to cook something I don’t cook very often. I haven’t been home in time any night of the week to have time to cook something new so I wanted until Saturday to head to Robson’s butcher to see what I could find. On my way there I did remembered seeing some rabbit and thought perhaps this might be the thing. They had farmed rabbit as well as wild rabbit. After a short inquiry from my end I did settle for the wild rabbit and they very kindly cut it up in 6 pieces for me, perfect portion size. I had seen a woman on TV cooking West African food and one of the things she did was some kind of game with tomato, scotch bonnet and I believe peanuts. I wanted to do something similar and my version ended up very different but lovely.

I love chicken wings but there are usually just two places where I eat them and they are both restaurants, american restaurants or at my local Chinese who makes lovely chilli hot wings. This time I wanted to cook some myself so I got some to make a starter.

Hot Sweet chilli chicken wings – oven 225C, 20 minutes – 10 on each side

  • 3 Chicken wings/pp 

—-

  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed 
  • rapeseed oil 2-3 tbsp
  • 1 tsp toasted sesame seed oil 
  • paprika powder 
  • barbecue spice
  • salt & pepper

Place the chicken wings in a bowl. Mix all the ingredients and pour over, make sure the chicken wings are coated. Roast in the oven for 10 minutes and then turn them over. If you are not ready turn the oven down to 120C and keep the chicken wings in there until you are ready to serve.

I did a sweet chilli sauce to go with the wings and just before serving pour some over to make them really sticky before getting it all over your hands. You can buy the sweet chilli sauce but I think that home made tastes better and is well worth the effort.

Sweet chilli sauce, approx 20 mins

  • 7-9 chillies, de-seeded and sliced
  •  2 dl vinegar 
  • 2 dl water 
  • 3 dl sugar

Place all ingredients in a pan and bring to the boil, after about 20 minutes it should have thickened. Once cooked pour it in to a jar for keeping. Spoon over the chicken wings before serving and don’t forget napkins!

Sweet chilli sauce ingredients

Sweet chilli wings

Wild rabbit pistacio curry – serves 4 people, cooking time  2 ½ – 3 hr

  • Unsalted, shelled pistaccio nuts, toasted and ground to flour, set some aside to garnish
  • 1 wild rabbit, chopped in to 6 parts 
  • 1 stalk celery, sliced 
  • 1 carrot, sliced 
  • Runner beans, de stringed and sliced
  • 1 shallot onion, sliced
  • 2 bay leaves 
  • 2 tomatoes, whole 
  • 2 chillies whole but with stalk removed
  • Ground coriander 
  • Paprika powder 
  • Chicken stock
  • Salt & Pepper 

—-

  • Spinach, to add when there is 5 mins left 
  • 1 lemon, grated rind and juice 

—-

Garnish, chopped parsley and toasted whole pistachio nuts

Add salt and pepper to the rabbit and pan fry in oil. Once browned place in a pan for slow cooking with the vegetables, spices and place the tomato whole on top. Add chicken to the frying pan to deglace and add to the rabbit, if it is not just about covering the meat add a bit more.

After about an hour place the tomatoes and the chillies in a blender and whizz until smooth, add the pistachio flour. Add to the rabbit after about 30 minutes and let simmer for another 3o minutes on very low heat.  When it is 10 minutes left add the spinach and lemon, rind and juice . We picked the last of the butternut squashes before they go off so I roasted some to go with the curry. The curry made the house smell lovely and I will make this again. Instead of the rabbit am sure chicken thighs would work as well.

 

 

I have added this to the November challenge for Herbs on Saturday  from Lavender and Lovage, November hosted by Blue Kitchen Bakes 

Comments
2 Responses to “Wild rabbit pistachio curry”
  1. I’ve only tried rabbit once before but it wasn’t in a curry, this sounds good though and I like the use of the ground pistachios, it’s something a bit different. Thanks for the entering this into Herbs on Saturday.

    • petra08 says:

      hi, it was really good, I have only cooked rabbit once before but it worked really well with pistachio nuts! And thanks for hosting Herbs on Saturday, it is great!

Leave a Reply

