Bangers and swede mash with onion gravy

Yesterday we were debating about dinner, there were various suggestions on the table but in the end we settled for bangers and mash. The cold weather demands comfort food and this dish is way up there!

There is a lot of produce at the allotment still and we picked the first swede of the season! We have grown them before but this year they are bigger.

Our butcher has a a great selection of sausages and we picked, pork with white pepper, wild boar and apple and a chicken and lemon sausage, why settle for one when there is so much to choose from! The butcher suggested the pork and white pepper and it was delicious. The chicken and lemon sausage had a wonderful lemon tang and wild boar and apple is always lovely!

Onion gravy 

  • 2 onions, sliced 
  • Oil
  • 5 dl beef stock  
  • balsamic vinegar, 1  tsp
  • agave nectar, 1 tsp (or sugar – if necessary)
  • soy sauce, to taste 
  • corn starch, 2 tsp
  • salt, extra if needed, pepper 

Slice the onions and fry them until translucent in oil, they should not burn but make sure they are cooked through. Add the balsamic vinegar and half of the agave nectar or sugar (you can add more later), let simmer for another 10 minutes. Add the beef stock and boil for 10-15 minutes or until reduced. Taste the sauce and add soy sauce to taste, salt if necessary and pepper. Once you are happy with the gravy dissolve the corn starch in cold water, add and pour in to a warm sauce jug. We were greedy and it all went for just 2 people!

Swede mash for 2 people

  • 1 swede, cubed small
  • 1 carrot,cubed small
  • butternut squash, cubed large (to allow everything to cook at the same time)
  • a knob of butter 
  • white pepper 
  • salt 

Cook until done in salted water, add a bayleaf to the cooking as well. When done remove the bayleaf and discard the cooking liquid. Use a masher, add a knob of butter, some buttermilk, taste, add salt and pepper.

Serve with peas and enjoy!

 

This has been entered to Made with Love Mondays – I love cooking from scratch!

Comments
10 Responses to “Bangers and swede mash with onion gravy”
  1. Sausages and mash is one of the perfect comfort foods . . . I know it makes me feel better when the clocks have gone back! Although a friend of mine likes his sausage and mash in a sandwich, which may be a carb step too far!

    • petra08 says:

      Wow mash and bread! Not quite sure about that but it sounds very hearty! I love bangers & mash. I once read a review from AA Gill who said his female co diner didn’t eat mash as it was “empty” calories, I couldn’t agree less, it is just lovely!

  2. I love swede mash. The first time I ate it I was in hospital giving birth to my first child, I was in pain but I thought yum this taste so good I want to cook it! Mash paired with top quality sausages is my perfect winter dinner!!

  3. The mash sounds delicious and I love that you used butternut squash – I think that is my favorite squash. And the onion gravy also sounds so tasty with the bangers 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing with Made with Love Mondays!

    • petra08 says:

      Am with you on the butternut squash! It was very nice with swede as well. Made with Love Mondays is great thanks for having it!

  4. Kdonkey says:

    I’ve not missed potates since being in Dubai, but you’ve just put paid to that 🙂 – ohhh bangers and mash with onion gravy – I’m on my flight back home, I wonder if I can bring the hot weather with me 🙂

    This looks lovely. I’m a bit of a tradionalist when it comes to sausages, but I do love the sounds of the wild boar and chicken, must try them out.

    • petra08 says:

      Some sunshine would be fab! Not too much of it here lately. There is always time for bangers and mash! The chicken was perhaps the best but it was nice to have different ones to try as well!

  5. Comfort food at its best. Looks perfectly done.

Leave a Reply

