What a Sunday lunch!

This week is the birthday of a friend of mine. To celebrate we were invited over for a Sunday lunch. I was asked to bring a dessert and I also volunteered to bring a starter.

Expecting nothing but a large roast I did have to have a think and wanted to make something light. We got a card and a present, that was the easy bit, I then spent a few days thinking about what to cook. At first I was thinking about fish or seafood but finally decided on a salad. The main course was to be a traditional Sunday lunch so I made a crispy duck salad with a hot and sour dressing to wake up the tastebuds.

As always I got a bit carried away and decided to make a pre-starter as well. It is lovely to have time for a lingering Sunday lunch so I thought we might have a nibble of baked figs with the drinks. we had some delicious champagne with them.

There was also the question of what to make for dessert. I don’t really make dessert very often and of course it was a birthday. I had no request for a birthday cake so decided to make a fruit tart, a great way to be able to incorporate healthy fruit and berries.

Baked figs with goats cheese and honey

I love crispy duck. I have never cooked it myself but it is rich. I thought I must be able to cook it myself and make it slightly healthier, duck is rich meat as it is but so nice and full of flavor. The order was a starter for nine people so after some debate with the butcher we settled for 6 duck legs and it was more than enough!

Crispy duck, 6 legs as a start for 9 people, for main course 1-2 duck legs pp. Oven at 150C

  • 6 duck legs
  • Rosemary
  • Salt & pepper

Rinse and pat dry the duck legs, add salt and pepper on both sides. In an oven proof dish add the rosemary sprigs, break them up a little to release the oil. Place the duck legs on top of the rosemary, skin side up and roast in the oven for 2.5 hr. When they are ready let the legs cool, still skin side up and strip the bones once they have cooled. I have also served them whole with mash for dinner.

I served the duck on top of a crispy salad and hot and sour dressing

Crispy salad

  • Carrot, sliced
  • Cabbage, sliced
  • Spring onions, sliced lengthways
  • Peppers, cut julienne
  • Courgette, thinly sliced

To decorate

  • Enoki mushrooms
  • Crispy duck, shredded
  • Dressing

I mixed everything except the decoration and placed in a bowl for transport and added the dressing just before serving.

Hot and sour dressing

  • Lime, juice
  • Ginger, grated fresh
  • Chili, fresh sliced thinly
  • Garlic, crushed
  • Fish sauce
  • Vinegar
  • Sugar
  • Salt

Mix the ingredients with the salt last to taste, the dressing is hot and sour and will cut through the richness of the duck. It is one of the most delicious dressings, I don’t have the exact measurements so try and see how you like it. If you like it hotter add another chilli.

We started with the white wine with the starters

Our host cooked a leg of lamb with all the trimmings and even two kinds of potatoes.

Leg of lamb 

Buttered carrots

Roast Parsnips

Mustard mash

Brussels sprouts

Beetroots, fresh boiled

All this was eaten with home made gravy and also roast potatoes, it was absolutely delicious!

We continued with red for the main course, a few of each I seem to remember.

After the lamb we had to have another break, drinking more wine, sharing jokes and stories talking about everything and nothing! When it was time for dessert I was so happy I had opted for something well, semi healthy! The fruit and berries really helped clear the pallets and aid digestion!

I made a fruit and berry tart. The base is shortcrust pastry, baked and then filled with creme anglais and topped with berries and served. We also had cheese and I had some Armangac to go with it.

It was a long lunch and we arrived at 12.30 and headed home around 9.30 PM. Completely full, very happy from all the wine and the great time I slept like a baby, what a lovely Sunday!

 

I have entered this to Javelin Warriors excellent Cooking from Scratch, Made with Love Mondays!

Comments
9 Responses to “What a Sunday lunch!”
  1. Jacqueline @How to be a Gourmand says:

    I would say your friend is very lucky to know you. She was spoiled! What a lovely birthday surprise.
    I love the idea of putting the shredded duck in a salad with hot and sour dressing.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Jacqueline

      sorry for late response, it was a bit of a busy weekend.
      Thank you, I did 2 cakes so one spare for the actual birthday the next day! The hot and sour is great with the rich duck meat.

  2. oh! this is a birthday Petra. I love the nice selection of wines (Italians love to drink wines during meals!). The crispy duck is something that I would like to try to cook…Duck is quite dry and I am always scared to ruin it…. I like the Asian dressing!

    • petra08 says:

      The wines were lovely 🙂 they do make a party! 🙂 If you are worried about the duck being dry this is perfect! Super easy and fail proof to be honest , it makes the duck meat moist and the skin nice and crispy, most of the fat drains off and the rosemary gives it a hint of herbs and makes the kitchen smell lovely! The dressing is my all time favorite and I use it every time I make rich foods! I do love the look of your chicken with the sage leaf, it does make me think about lunch already!

  3. Everything looks so delicious, Petra! The leg of lamb turned out beautifully and I love the hot and sour dressing… Thanks so much for sharing all this delicious food!

  4. mjskit says:

    What a feast, but I really, really love the crispy duck salad!! Saw it over at Made with Love Monday and knew I had to check it out. Love the salad and the dressing is perfect!

    • petra08 says:

      hi MJ

      thanks for stopping by and am glad you liked it! The salad dressing is my all time favorite, it just mixes the hot and sour and cuts through and compliments any rich foods, like duck! 🙂

  5. I was lucky enough to be a guest at this wonderful lunch – absolutely delicious! The duck salad was to die for.

Leave a Reply

