Chicken stir fry with savory orange sauce and black & white noodles

The other day when I was walking home from work I was thinking about chicken soup, still feeling a slight cold I found the thought very appealing. I wanted something quick so I got a chicken breast from the butcher and headed home. One chicken breast is enough in a soup for two as there is so much else in there as well, and I was thinking about making meat go a long way if you have lots of lovely veg to go with it!

At home I turned the TV on and guess what, there was Nigel Slater cooking away on the theme of how to make a little go a long way!

I didn’t have any bread at home so that ruled out soup, I love the combination of soup and a grilled cheese sandwich! After a quick look around I found 3 large oranges and decided to make chicken in orange sauce with noodles instead of the soup, using one chicken breast for 2 people, it worked a treat!

Savoury orange sauce

  • orange juice from 3 oranges
  • 2 tbs lemon cordial concentrate
  • 2 tbs vinegar
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tsp corn flour
  • 2 tbsp sweet chilli sauce

Stir fry chicken with lots of veg and black and white noodles

1 chicken breast, sliced

  • 1 chilli, sliced
  • ginger, cut to match stick pieces
  • garlic, cut to match stick pieces
  • paneer cheese, cubed
  • sweet chilli sauce, 2 tbsp
  • savoy cabbage, sliced
  • 1 carrot, sliced
  • 1 stalk celery, sliced
  • toasted sesame oil
  • orange sauce
  • salt & pepper

Garnish

  • spring onion, 2, sliced
  • pineapple, 2 rings sliced (from it’t own juice)
  • Black rice noodles, soba noodles

I stir fried the chicken to make sure this was cooked through and then set it aside. I added a little more oil and the chilli, garlic and ginger and let fry for about a minute. After that I added the rest of the ingredients except the orange sauce and sesame oil.

I boiled the noodles, I had black rice noodles and white soba noodles to make “black & white noodles”. Whist the noodles were cooking I added salt and pepper and the rest of the ingredients. I like to keep my spring onion raw, they are very mild and add a lovely crunch but it is of course possible to cook them for a minute or two as well.

I added a dash of toasted sesame seed oil and then the orange sauce and let that simmer whilst draining the noodles. I added the noodles last minute, added the pineapple and spring onions and served. A little did go a long way and it was a great way to feed two people on one breast of chicken with a lot of veg.

Leave a Reply

