Slow cooked beef cheek with mash and tomato jam

When I was young, going out with my grandma she always brought a spare bag, not for shopping but to carry things home that she won. It could be anything from a small things like tea towels at the local tombola to a whole set of tea cups. If we went to the amusement park she would bring 2 or even 3 bags! I didn’t win anything of my own that I can remember but it still worked in my favor as she always shared!

I still don’t seem to win anything so imagine my surprise the other night when I came home I found a hamper, it was filled to the brim with goodies from Epicure. I had won it with my recipe Lamb Pot a Feu! I was so excited and could not wait to get cooking!

After months of trying we finally found a date for two of our our friends to come over for dinner!  must have changed the menu at least 4 times but when the basket from Epicure came one of the jars was goose fat. I decided to use the goose fat to confit chicken wings.  It wasn’t until I was at the butchers on Friday to get the chicken wings and saw beef cheeks on sale I knew what to make for main course. I knew then that I wanted slow cooked beef as  a main course! The butcher cut the chicken wings by the joint and discarded the tip end for me.

I read a recpie from Lorraine Pascale, Rioja braised lamb shanks. I wanted to use the base she used, chorizo, red wine and balsamic vinegar, this is pretty much where similarities end but it turned out delicious!

Comfit chicken wings with sweet chilli jam

  • 3 chicken wings/pp, the butcher removed the tip and cut them by the joint
  • 1 jar of goose fat
  • 2 sprigs of lemon thyme
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 2 chilies
  • salt

I trimmed the chicken wings and placed everything in a pot and gently let it simmer for about an hour and a half.

Once cooked I passed the goose fat through the sieve and set aside for the beetroot fondants. Once the wings cooled I removed the 2 bones. Just before it was time to serve I pan fried the chicken wings to make them crispy. I served them with sweet chili jam and lots of napkins – it is the perfect, sticky finger food!

The beef took a long time to cook, allow 3 hours but it really is worth the wait and there is something very comforting about slow cooked food.

Red wine and balsamic vinegar slow cooked beef cheeks – for 6 people, cooking time 3 hours

  • 2 beef cheeks, trim and cut them in to chunks
  • 1 bottle of red wine
  • 300 ml balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 chorizo ring, sliced
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 3 carrots, sliced
  • 3 celery sticks, sliced
  • 2 bay leaves
  • Parsley stalks, tided in a bouquet garni
  • Lemon thyme
  • chestnut mushrooms, cleaned and halved
  • salt to taste

Garnish

  • Chopped parsley
  • Sliced spring onion

I started by pan frying the chorizo to render the fat out. I then floured the beef chunks and browned them in the chorizo oil in the frying pan.

I put them in the pan for slow cooking and a added the red wine, the balsamic vinegar and the bay leaves and let simmer gently for an hour.

When that was cooking I chopped up the veg.

I added the veg and the lemon thyme  and parsley stalks after an hour of cooking and left it to cook gently for another couple of hours.

I made a tomato and carrot jam to go with the beef,  a bit experimental but worked out really nice, I can’t wait to try this with a hamburger as well.

When there was one hour left of the cooking I prepared potatoes and cauliflower mash along with beetroot fondants.

Everything was ready at the same time, the beef was super soft possible to shred with a spoon, the mash fluffy, the beetroot fondants perfectly cooked through and the jam ready to serve.

The mash got a sprinkle of bacon crumbs and chopped parsley

The beef was delicious and all the flavors had married beautifully

After dinner we had a a break with more wine. I had ordered wine from Waitrose online, paid for a Saturday delivery but when the wine had not arrived by 6 pm I called them. It seemed that no wine had been dispatched, not quite sure why and they don’t have an internal system in place to actually tell their customers. With the guests arriving there was a last minute run to the local wine shop, it was very disappointing but it was a brilliant evening despite this little hick up!  We had a dessert but it will have to go in to the next blog, keep an eye out. I did a scrumptious chocolate mousse that made us all smile!

 

I have entered this to Javelin Warriors Made with Love Monday, great food, cooked from scratch!

MadeWithLove

Comments
6 Responses to “Slow cooked beef cheek with mash and tomato jam”
  1. Jacqueline @How to be a Gourmand says:

    I’ve never actually tasted beef cheeks before – what is the texture like. The dish looks so rich and deep with flavour. Perfect for this time of year. What a wonderful gift to win from Epicure 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Jacqueline

      I was like a kid on Christmas when opening the hamper!
      Beef cheeks taste like beef but the meat is softer, sort of fall apart way, it is delicious. I had never cooked with them before and a friend said I had to try, I will cook it again! 🙂

  2. Slow cooked beef, this is the kind of food that I like to eat during the cold winter days (to be honest today is quite mild here in London!). The hamper looks so good, LUCKY YOU.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Rita

      it is so comforting and the beef cheeks so super soft! We had the left overs the day after and it was even better! I know it is not quite cold enough but am sure it will be, at least for a couple of days! The hamper was great, it made me so happy and have lots of ideas of how to use the ingredients!

  3. Wow, that’s quite the hamper of goodies! And you made quite a feast to celebrate – the slow-cooked beef cheeks sound wonderful being cooked in wine. And I’m pressed with your use of the goose fat! Thanks so much for sharing…

    • petra08 says:

      thanks 🙂 I am not quite sure what to cook with all of the hamper stuff but am sure I will work it out.
      The beef cheeks were amazing and I will cook it again, perfect winter food!

Leave a Reply

