Chocolate mousse and sweet apricot kernel praline

What is a dinner without dessert? I don’t make them very often and if we don’t have guests we usually have some cheese instead but this time I really wanted to make some. I bought some gorgeous dark chocolate. It is not as sweet as milk chocolate and I decided to make a chocolate mousse with praline and Asian pear.

Chocolate mousse it needs a couple of hours to set so I started once the beef was simmering away, leaving it enough time to cool.

Chocolate mousse

  • 250 gr chocolate
  • 25 gram butter
  • 4 egg whites
  • 2 dl cream, whipped
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 2 gelatine sheets
  • 2 large tbsp sugar

I melted the chocolate and butter and whisked the egg whites and set aside. I whipped the cream and set aside. In a third bowl I whisked the egg yolks and sugar. When the chocolate melted I placed the gelatine leaves in cold water to soften up.

I mixed the egg yolks, sugar and whipped cream and gave the egg whites another whisk to make sure it formed stiff peaks.

Once the gelatine is soft I placed the leaves in a pan and added a couple of tbsp of water and then gently dissolved. Mix the cream mixture with the chocolate, the melted gelatine and last add the egg whites. Fill in ramekins and place in the fridge to set.

I bought Asian pear to go with the chocolate mousse. I love to buy things I haven’t tried before and I found sweet apricot kernels last week. I wasn’t quite sure what to do with them but I wanted to try so I decided to toast them and make praline to go with the chocolate mousse. I could have eaten the praline alone, delicious!

I sliced some Asian pear to go with the mousse as well, the crispiness was perfect with the sweet praline and the rich chocolate, a little piece of chocolate heaven!

After this I think we were all getting full but there was a little room for some more wine, cheese, fruit and last years sloe gin! I had found a blue goats cheese, quite mellow but delicious. We had some other cheese to go as well, Waterloo, a soft goats cheese and Tickler, a very strong cheddar. I got a blackcurrant liqueur out that I made  last year and it had matured, it now had some port wine qualities and it was great with the cheeses!

It was such a good evening and thank you guys for coming! Let’s not wait for 2 years again until next time!

Comments
4 Responses to “Chocolate mousse and sweet apricot kernel praline”
  1. Nice, soft chocolate mousse, I love it but I am afraid to eat raw eggs (an obsession, I even do not make tiramisu with raw eggs!), so I just admire your pictures!

  2. This sounds wonderful. If I came to your house and you served this for pudding I’d be very happy.

Leave a Reply

