Seafood Friday

On my way home from work today I planned to go past Robson’s the local butcher . Then, about half way between work and home is a fishmonger, Sandy’s. They have a lot of everything and I decided to make a pit stop and buy some shellfish, prawns, crab and perhaps some langoustines. Once inside I changed my mind a few times but left with quite a few goodies!

I wanted to serve fish and seafood. Sandy’s sell garlic marinated fresh anchovies and I can never resist buying some. They have a great bite of acid from the vinegar and the little kick of garlic, a delicious combination.

A dressed crab caught my eye, it looked so little I thought why not, crab is of course always more filling than I remember.

When I was young my mother and myself would drive down to the harbour sometimes and buy fish straight from the fishermen as they came in from their fishing trips. The fish and shellfish was always just caught and the taste is different from when it as been handled, shipped, auctioned and shipped again to the final destination, a little magic part of the sea is lost along the way. One of the fishermen sometimes also sold smocked mackerel and it was one of my favourite meals, very fresh smoked mackerel,  boiled potato and creamed spinach. When I saw the smoked mackerels in Sandy’s I had to have one and I served a little with the prawns and the crab.

I got a bit too heavy on the prawns, I had some with peel on that I served as they were (already cooked), I did a dairy based garlic, lemon and dill sauce to serve with the seafood.

On the side I mixed some of the peeled prawns with some of the sauce and served it with thinly sliced Asian Pear and a pea shoot.

I had some mussels, more peeled prawns and a small fillet of whiting left over but wanted something warm. One of my friends cooked mussels for me once and it was delicious, I just added a few more ingredients but here is the recipe

Irene’s seafood stew – 3 portions if served with rice or potato

  • 1 celery stalk, sliced
  • 1 can tomatoes, I used yellow pomodori
  • 1/2 onion
  • mussels, about 450 gr
  • whiting, 1 fillet, skinned and cut in to chunks
  • peeled, cooked prawns
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • Parsley, chopped
  • Spring onion, sliced
  • 2-3 dl white wine
  • a knob of butter, small or large depending on how much you would like
  • Salt & white pepper
  • Oil

Put the oil in a hot pan and quickly fry the garlic, onion and celery, add the white wine and let reduce at least by half. Then add the butter, parsley, mussels, gently place the whiting in there and the peeled prawns, let simmer for a few minutes and when the mussels are open it is ready to serve.

I did have some cheese for dessert but there was no more room! The rest of Friday night is to be spent on the sofa with a glass of wine and a good movie. Happy Weekend!

Leave a Reply

