Japanese mums chicken, smoked mackerel starter and crab

After my visit to Sandy’s the fishmongers the fridge was well stocked and after the seafood dinner Friday night I wanted to cook something experimental. I had three crab claws and decided to make crab mousse for our friends coming for dinner.

But first thing first and after a morning with quite a lot to do it was brunch by the time it was time to eat. I took the mackerel I had left over and mixed to a coarse pate.

Smoked mackerel pate 

  • 1 smoked mackerel, boned and skin removed, shred the fish with your hands
  • 2 tbsp cottage cheese
  • 2 tbsp low fat onion
  • 1 tbsp creme fraiche
  • 2 spring onions, sliced
  • 1/2 avocado, cubed
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • Salt & pepper

Place all ingredients in a bowl and mix gently with a spoon until mixed. Add salt and pepper to taste. Set aside in the fridge for about 30 minutes for the flavours to set.

Poach a egg and place on top of the mackerel pate and serve with toast for a filling brunch.

I had some of the mackerel left over and served it as a pre starter before dinner. I cut up some toast, topped with the mackerel pate and it was a perfect little bite!

Now on to the crab mousse, I could not wait to try it. I used a base as for mousse and some cream but I would not use cream again, it took the edge of the flavours but it was still good, it needs some tweaking!

I read a recipe last week with the charming name, Japanese Mum’s Chicken. You can find the recipe here, I doubled the amounts for the glaze before serving and I cooked the chicken in the oven for 30 minutes and added the glaze before serving and it was delicious.

I took the garlic that had flavoured the glaze out of the glaze and chopped them up before mixing with some yoghurt, salt and pepper and dressed a crunchy salad made of sliced cabbage, carrot, spring onion and cucumber.

We ate it with mac&cheese, I tried a new recipe and it was good but too dry, I need to add more sauce and change the proportions  for next time but will keep the base. The main  cheese I used was Comte, one of my favourites and Moliterno cheese and it worked really well. I will post the recipe when I got it right!

Our friends brought a wonderful plum crumble that we had for dessert. It was so delicious I had to have a second helping and after that I was quite full with only a tiny bit of space left for some cheese.

On the cheeseboard I had some of the blue goats cheese I bought last week, Blue Castello and a wonderful piece of Waterloo and served it with mango and grapes.

After all the food and wine everyone were very full and happy. I had some more wine, I bought a box of what might be the best value wine around, Waitrose Claret Reserve and we got through quite a few bottles and I slept very well!

Leave a Reply

