Chimmichurri baked tofu

In my basket from Epicure there was a chimmichurri sauce/paste. I have never eaten chimmichurri, or made it myself but I was very curious and wanted to try it. It smells lovely of herbs and spices and I knew I had to try it. It is usually used with meat but I thought it might be a good combination to tofu. Tofu needs a lot of flavor or it can get a bit bland.

It was a weeknight meal so I wanted to keep it healthy and light and decided to see if I could cook a meal with no added fat, what is life without a challenge?

Chimmichirri baked tofu with mushrooms and cherry tomatoes, oven on 200C

  • Firm Tofu, sliced
  • Chimmichurri sauce/paste
  • Chestnut mushrooms, cleaned and sliced
  • Soy sauce, to taste
  • Mirin, 1-2 tbsp
  • Cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 2 spring onions, sliced
  • Sesame seeds, toasted
  • Sea salt flakes
  • Pepper

I started with the tofu that I sliced in quite thick slices and placed in an oven proof dish on teflon baking paper. I sprinkled with a little salt and smeared the chimmichirru paste/sauce over and placed in the oven to bake for 15-20 minutes. Whilst that was baking I cleaned and sliced the mushrooms, placed them in a pan and cooked off the liquids. When the pan was almost dry I added soy sauce, mirin and pepper.

The mushrooms are cooked when there is no more liquid in the pan, they are firm and the soysauce and mirin really helps to bring out the flavor and the soy adds a little saltiness. I didn’t cook the tomatoes but added them to the cooked mushrooms to get them a little warmer. Just before serving I added the sliced spring onions.

Once the tofu was baked I placed the mushroom mix on the plate and then placed the tofu on top with a last sprinkle of the toasted sesame seeds and a few sea salt flakes. I did intend to cook the dish without any added fat but I could not resist a whirl of great quality olive oil as well.

It was a very healthy meal but full of flavor. I have to admit it is a challenge to cook vegan foods in the sense that it takes a little bit more thought but it always leaves me feeling healthier and well, lighter. A great weeknight meal.

Leave a Reply

