Veg studded meatballs

For me, food is not only about flavor, even if this is very important, but also textures. The other day I really had a bit of a craving for meatballs, not the IKEA ones but home made. I got some mince pork, I had an apple at home and apple and pork works so well together.

I also had a rummage around the veg box, there were quite a few different veg but not much of any. I decided to make a veg mash from

  • 1 potato
  • 1 sweet potato
  • Broccoli
  • Cauliflower

I boiled them and then mashed it with some milk, chicken stock and light creme fraiche, lighter than mash but still very satisfying.

09DecVeg

Whilst the veg was boiling I chopped up

carrot

carrot

celery

celery

Apple and chili, seeds removed

Apple and chili, seeds removed

I also added

  • mince pork
  • 2 garlic cloves, peeled and crushed
  • breadcrumbs
  • 1 egg
  • paprika powder
  • cayenne pepper
  • salt & pepper

I mixed everything and usually I cook the meatballs in the oven but this time I pan fried them in oil and a little butter. The outside gets crispier and taste better! I used about 400 gr of mince pork and I could easily have fed 4 people if I had made slightly more mash.

By adding the carrot, celery and apple each bite had all the meatball flavor but more texture and the veg and apple made them lighter, I will do this again!

I had some stock left over so I made a mustard and mushroom gravy and served the meatballs with a cranberry sauce that I made a couple of weeks ago and some sundried tomatoes for added texture and flavor. It was a meal for everyone regardless of age to just tuck in to whilst getting a large veg portion as well!

09DecMeatballDinner

Comments
2 Responses to “Veg studded meatballs”
  1. Kathryn Jones says:

    I will try these and I think whaity will love you x

Leave a Reply

