Black rice noodles with cold smoked moose

The last week before Christmas I was supposed to be out most nights so I didn’t plan any meals but one night there was a change of plans and I could headbstraight home and decided to cook with what I had at home. On my last trip to Stockholm I bought some cold smoked moose to bring home, isn’t that very Swedish of me?! I don’t bring many Swedish foods back to the UK anymore but every now and then I bring something back that tastes unmistakable Swedish.

The meat is quite salty and has that wonderful smoked flavour so I decided to go for three tastes, salty, sweet and sour.

Black rice noodles with stir fry lemon sauce and cold smoked moose

  • 2 rounds of black rice noodles
  • 1 can of water chestnuts
  • 1 can of bamboo shoots
  • 1/2 sweet red paprika
  • 3 lemons
  • 2 tbsp sugar (more to taste)
  • 2 tbsp vinegar
  • 1 tbsp lemon undiluted cordial
  • 1 tsp corn starch
  • a splash of water
  • diced cold smoked moose

Squeeze the juice from the lemons in to a cooking pan, add the sugar, vinegar and cordial and a splash of water, bring to the boil and stir to dissolve the sugar. Mix the corn starch with a little water and thicken the sauce, taste and add more of anything to adjust the taste and set aside.

Boil water for the noodles and heat the wok. When the wok is hot add oil and when this is smoking hot add the bamboo shoots, pepper and water chestnuts. When they are hot add the lemon sauce. Add the noodles and stir through. I added the diced moose just before serving. The salt, sour and sweet worked really well, especially with the smoky flavour and even better with some spicy seeds on top!

17DecNoodles&Mouse

Leave a Reply

