Celebrating the new year with rib of beef

This year we celebrated New Years at home with our friends from across the road. I was responsible for the starter and the main course and I had an order for rib of beef.

The place to start was to Robson’s Butcher to get the beef, they had a fab looking rib of beef that would be perfect for dinner. To go with this I wanted mash, cabbage, horseradish sauce and apple jelly.

I did a small lunch, not wanting to spoil the appetite I did stuffed portobello mushrooms, just a couple each, stuffed with spicy sausage, different veg and a little cubed hard goats cheese. I mixed the filling with a little olive oil, salt, pepper and a crushed clove of garlic and then baked for 20 minutes in 175C.

1.NYEStuffedCookedMushroom

To go with the drinks I made spiced nuts, a spicy start to the evening

1.NYESpicedNuts

For starter I wanted to make some salmon and avocado but they had run out of salmon in the shop so  got some prawns instead and did a small pre starter.

Spicy prawn starter 

  • 1 small pack of prawns, roughly chopped
  • Creme fraiche, I used the light version, 3% fat
  • 2 tbsp low fat yoghurt
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 1 avocado, cubed
  • 2 tsb spicy sauce, I used the Hungarian sauce
  • chives, finely chopped
  • 2 spring onions, chopped
  • salt & ground white pepper
  • Spicy seeds

Mix everything and let stand for an hour for the flavours to set. I wanted this to be a very small pre starter but it is of course possible to serve with some toast for a more substantial starter.

Sprinkle over the spicy seeds and serve.

1.NYEPrawns

I had some cured reindeer meat and some of the pickled chilli apple so I served this as a starter with cubed, pan fried beetroot.

1.NYEReindeer

Rib of beef, oven 190C, cook until the inner temperature is 57C

Spice rub

  • cayenne pepper
  • seasalt
  • black pepper
  • rapseed oil
  • Rosemary, chopped

For cooking

  • rosemary
  • bayleaves

Mix all the ingredients and rub the beef before searing.

1.NYERubbedRibofBeef

When it is seared add bayleaves and rosemary

1.NYEHerbedRibofBeef

I cooked the meat until it has reached 57C

1.NYECookedRibofBeef

Wrap the beef in tinfoil and let rest for at least 40 minutes before serving.

We had a few bottles of wine throughout the evening, some Chianti, some claret and some other red.

1.NYEOrmanniChianti

For dessert we had a small mountain of profiteroles

1.NYEProfiterrolls

We also had oranges in Grand Marnier, perfect and light before some cheese and more wine

1.NYEOrange&GrandMarnier

Being New years Eve we ended it with Champagne, I did my New Years resolution and Happy 2013!!

 

1.NYELansonChampange

Leave a Reply

