Black eyed beans and pan fried salmon

After quite an indulgent holiday season my body wants veg and healthy foods. Like most of the population I feel that I have piled on the pounds and need to make amends. I will not give up anything but will go for a healthier diet. That means out with the healthy food cookbooks for inspiration and a lot less cheese for a while!

I had an idea that I was going to cook a Thai curry when I got home from work but by the time I was actually home I changed my mind and wanted something that was a little quicker, and I also fancied some black eyed beans.

The Thai curry I make is a balance between hot and sour, I wanted something with a tang to go with the salmon and made quick black eyed beans with veg and herbs. It might sound like a lot of ingredients but it is quick and ready in 15 minutes.

Black eyed beans with veg and herbs 

  • 1 can of black eyed beans
  • 1 celery stalk, cubed
  • 1 can of pomodori tomatoes
  • 1 red pepper, cubed
  • 1 red chilli, deseeded and chopped
  • 1 small yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 spring onions, sliced
  • 1 bunch parsley
  • chopped chives
  • a few Brussel sprouts, sliced
  • 1 chicken stock cube
  • 1/2 gems lettuce, sliced
  • grated zest of 1 lemon
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 tsp agave nectar
  • 1 tbsp rapeseed oil

Heat the oil in a pan and then gently fry the yellow onion, Brussel sprouts and celery until soft and then add the canned tomatoes the stock cube, a twist of black pepper, let simmer for 5 minutes and then add the lettuce, spring onion, pepper, chilli, zest of lemon, agave nectar, pepper,black eyed beans and parsley. Let simmer for a couple of minutes and then turn the heat off, put the lid on and let stand until the salmon is done. Then re heat and add the lemon juice just before serving. If it is too tart add some more agave nectar and/or add a little soy sauce before serving.

Before cooking the salmon I was hungry and did a quick avocado starter. Avocado is rich in in good monounsaturated fat and vitamins B2, B3, B6, C and E. Cottage cheese containes protein that breaks down to amino acids, which the body uses to build and repair cells as well as calcium and tomatoes have lycopene that research suggests might help prevent certain cancers. A superfood starter.

Avocado and cottage cheese starter, serves 2

  • 1 ripe avocado, halved
  • 2 tbsp cottage cheese
  • 1 tbsp low fat yoghurt
  • 3 cherry tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 finely chopped bunch of chives
  • a generous pinch of flaky seasalt

Mix everything but the avocado, fill the avocado, add a few chopped chives and serve.

2JanAvocadoStarter

I bought a piece of salmon and I removed the skin and cut in to portion pieces.

2JanSalmon

I then added salt and pepper and pan fried it in rapeseed oil before serving with the back eyed beans. It is a cooked dinner served in less than 30 minutes, quick, healthy and full of flavor. A perfect way to kick off my more healthy January.

2JanSalmon&Beans

 

 

Comments
6 Responses to “Black eyed beans and pan fried salmon”
  1. Yum this looks great! I know what you mean about not eating as much cheese!

  2. K Donkey says:

    looks really tasty, I love black eyed peas and I bet work well with salmon – not sure about the brussel sprouts though 🙂 ha ha ha….

  3. I feel the same say, Petra – I really need to lay off the fattening foods like cheese and get back to healthfulness 🙂 This sounds very tasty and I’ve been craving beans myself recently. Unfortunately, canned foods (beans and tomatoes included) are not permitted by Made with Love Mondays so I won’t be able to include the black eyed peas. However, I will include the avocado and cottage cheese starter which also sounds wonderful… Thank you so much for sharing…

Leave a Reply

