Salt baked chicken with cabbage and cavolo nero

When I was young I went on a ski holiday with my friend and her family. We drove from Sweden to the North of Italy, making a stop in the south of Germany to visit some friends. We went through the city of Nürnberg, Germany, where we stopped for lunch.My friends extended family’s dad had spent part of his university years here and this was the first time I had salt baked chicken, or salt baked any food. It was many years ago but I can still remember how delicious it was!

I wanted to re create this chicken but never quite got the salt dough right but I wanted to have another go at it after being inspired by Raymond Blanc salt baking a small bird on TV. My salt dough doesn’t look as nice as his (of course!), I clearly need to work on presentation of the dough, baking never was my strong side.

Salt baked chicken, oven 180C, cook for approx 1 1/2 hour

For the salt dough

  • 3 dl wheat flour
  • 2 dl salt
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1 tbsp water

The chicken

1 whole chicken, any giblets removed

thyme, 2-3 sprigs

zest of 1 lemon

Mix the ingredients for the dough until smooth. I rolled it out in 3, one base, and 2 for the top but one day I will be able to roll it out in one and fold it a la Raymond Blanc. Either way I have to practise but it turned out ok and I used the yolks to “glue” the dough together.  am also sure the proportions can be adjusted.

I didn’t use any salt on the chicken but could not resist a little thyme and lemon zest for extra flavour. I mixed it and rubbed the chicken before encasing it in the dough.

Salt dough baked chicken 05JanSaltBakedChicken

I picked cabbage and cavolo nero from the allotment to go with the chicken. I did a stew with semi skimmed milk, thickened with arrow root and spiced with salt, white pepper and a hint of freshly grated nutmeg.

05JanCabbage

I also made some garlic roast veg 05JanVegforRoasting

When I cracked the salt crust a lovely smell of the thyme and the lemon zest trickled out.

05JanBakedChicken

It was a nice dinner, the chicken was moist and it was great with the cabbage and the roast veg, the stewed cabbage gave the dish a nice and comforting flavour and no carbs kept it light. Saying this it is still no where near the chicken I had in Nürnberg, it tasted like a recipe that has been perfected through generations, or maybe that is just wishful thinking. I will simply have to cook it until I get it perfect as  even if I would go back to Nürnberg I doubt I would ever find the restaurant again.

05JanSaltBakedChickenDinner

I have entered this to Made with Love Mondays, cooking from scratch, hosted by the excellent Javelin Warrior.

MadeWithLove

Comments
2 Responses to “Salt baked chicken with cabbage and cavolo nero”
  1. This is such a cool way to roast a chicken and I’ve never seen or heard of doing this. So cool. And it looks like it turned out beautifully. I love the addition of thyme and lemon for the chicken – I would have done the same thing 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

