Black and white noodles with peanut sauce

I love Friday nights, the week is done, today there was a lot of snow! All day in the office I kept an eye out the window to make sure I could see the buses still running and at the end of the day I left a little early after about 6 hours of non stop snowing!

19JanSnow

I did get home in time to pop in to Robson’s Butcher and buy the last of their beef cheeks, I wanted a nice meat to braise for a Sunday lunch stew.

Today wasn’t a meat day, I wanted something light, perhaps not the healthiest but delicious. I love peanut sauce but there are so many different ones I can never remember which one I like and it is not very difficult to make. A long time ago I read a few recipes and after some experimenting and exchanging the ingredients, here is my version.

Peanut sauce for noodles, serves up to 4 but I always love a little on the side so I use this for 2

Peanut sauce

  • 1 fresh chilli, de seeded and roughly chopped
  • 1 large handful of cashew nuts, roughly chopped and toasted
  • 2 tsp sesame seeds, toasted
  • 2 garlic cloves, roughly chopped
  • 2 large tbsp peanut butter (I used organic and crunchy)
  • 1/2 dl toasted sesame oil
  • 1/2 dl soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp mirin
  • 1 tbsp rice vinegar

For garnish 

  • 1 eating apple
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • a little honey
  • 1/2 mango
  • 2 spring onions
  • parsely or coriander, chopped

Noodles

  • Black rice noodles
  • Rice noodles

Place all the ingredients for the peanut sauce in a blender and blend, not too long the sauce is not meant to be smooth and set aside.

18janPeanutsauce

Peel and cube the apple, squeeze over the juice of 1/2 lime and add a little honey, it is supposed to be tart still  and the honey  should be just enough to take the edge off.

18JanApples

Cut the mango julienne

18JanMango

Slice the spring onion

18JanSpringOnions

Chop the parsley

18JanParsely

Boil the black rice noodles, about 5-6 minutes, watch them carefully as they will go from uncooked to cooked in no time!

Place the rice noodles in a bowl and add boiling water and let them soak, they will be ready when the black rice noodles are.

18JanRiceNoodles

Drain the noodles and mix with half of the peanut sauce, add the chopped herb. place on a plate or in a serving bowl and add the apple, mango, spring onions, some toasted sesame seeds and the remaining parsley and serve. I love to add even more peanut sauce as well but it is a matter of taste! It didn’t take very long to cook and it was just bursting with flavour.

18JanNoodleDish

 

I have added this to Made with Love Mondays, hosted by the ever excellent Javelin Warrior

MadeWithLove

Comments
12 Responses to “Black and white noodles with peanut sauce”
  1. Magda says:

    Yummy, I have to try with my current noodle obsession!

  2. Maggie says:

    Stunning food bursting with flavour. Beautiful photograph too.

  3. This sounds amazing. I love peanuts but don’t use them often enough. Would love to try this.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Caroline

      it worked really well and was so easy to make. I have a child like love for peanutbutter so it was perfect.

  4. I made peanut sauce noodles last night, but I was not happy with my recipe…too much peanut butter, very rich ….I wish I read this post yesterday, your version sounds MUCH BETTER than mine.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Rita

      well, I have done a lot of trials and errors but finally got the balance right. As you said it is so easy to make it too rich! This one has a lot of oil but it only added flavor and actually if I had doubled the amount am sure we would have eating it all still! 🙂

  5. The peanut sauce sounds delicious with the noodles and I love the garnish. This is such a simple dish, yet so elegantly presented… Thanks so much for sharing!

  6. K Donkey says:

    I am going to have to stop reading your recipes when I’m hungry, as it makes my hunger even worse. What is bad beans on toast don’t cut the mustard compared to this great recipe 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      Beans on toast? 🙂 It is so wonderfully English and very comforting! The peanut sauce was great, no need for meat or fish!

Leave a Reply

