Smoked mussel and chilli sandwich

I love to eat fresh foods but I always have a stash of tins at home, perfect for when I need something quick and easy.

One thing I always keep is smoked mussels or oysters, the size is snack perfect. I wanted a snack quite quickly and a tin of smoked mussels  was it. I did some sweet chilli sauce yesterday and wanted to see how that would go with the smokiness of the mussels.

Smoked mussel sandwich 

  • 1 slice of bread, I prefer sour dough
  • butter for spreading
  • 1 tin of smoked mussels
  • chopped cucumber
  • chopped onion
  • 2 tbsp sweet chilli sauce

I toasted the bread and opened the tin of mussels. I always open the tin in a plastic bag to avoid spilling any of the oil, it will smell quite quickly.

20janOpenedSmokedMussels

Once the toast is done, the food is ready to serve! Butter the toast, add the smoked mussels, the cucumber and onion, pour over some of the oil and drizzle over the sweet chilli sauce and tuck in! Sometimes good food can be super quick and very uncomplicated. The sweet and the hot from the sweet chilli sauce was perfect with the smoky mussel, the onion provided a bite and the cucumber added crunch and a slight mellowness, easy food.

20JanSmokedMusselsSandwich

Leave a Reply

