Lamb kebab and red wine braised veg

I had such a great idea for dinner, lamb kebabs with feta and lemon. I got mince lamb and went home. At home I realised i did not have any lemon, nor did I have any feta cheese – what to do? I looked around and I decided to use Halumi cheese and apple instead. I got a new kind of Halumi cheese and it was not as good, or salty as the one I usually buy. I used it anyway but I missed that “Halumi” hit.

Cheese & apple lamb kebabs, serves 2 – oven on 200C

  • 400 gr mince lamb
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 grated apple
  • 2 slices of cubed halumi cheese
  • smoked paprika powder
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • salt & pepper

Mix everything in a bowl and shape the lamb kebabs. Place in an over proof dish and roast in the oven for 25-35 minutes.  Roast some squash as well and they will be ready at the same time.

08FebCoquinaSquash

08FebLambKebab

I had some red wine left over, not enough to serve with dinner so I decided to make a red wine sauce to go with my kebabs.

Red wine braised veg sauce

  • 1 carrot, cut in to small cubes
  • 1 celery stalk, cut in to small cubes
  • about 2 dl red wine
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, chopped fine
  • chicken stock
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp cooking oil

Heat the oil in a pan and add the chopped up veg. Let them cook but not get burnt.

08FebVegforSauce

The add the red wine, chicken stock and sugar and let reduce to about half. I meant to get rid of the veg but it was so delicious I decided to keep them. The red wine added a nice depth of flavour.

08FebWineBraisedVeg

I also steamed some cabbage and served.

08FebLambKebabMeal

Comments
2 Responses to “Lamb kebab and red wine braised veg”
  1. Marmaduke Scarlet says:

    Improvisation? I think you have created a new favourite!

Leave a Reply

