SpagBol Lasagne – left over dinner

I cooked way too much spaghetti bolognese for dinner and was left with another meal. I didn’t want to eat the same thing two days in a row so I decided to make a “lazy” lasagne, it was a great way to transform left overs. I had a bag of spinach and some mushrooms that needed using.

I placed the spaghetti bolognese in an oven proof dish and put the oven on 180C.  I cooked the mushrooms with some hot sauce, garlic and soy sauce and placed on top, I then added about half of the spinach on top and made the bechamel sauce.

15FebGarlicChilliMushrooms

Bechamel sauce 

  • 3 ½ dl semi skimmed milk 
  • 1 – 1½ dl grated cheese, I used Jarlsberg as this is my latest favorite
  • nutmeg, fresh grated 
  • salt & white pepper 
  • ½ dl cold semi skimmed milk 
  • 2 ½ heaped tsp arrow root

Heat the milk, add salt and white pepper. Mix the cold milk and the arrowroot when the milk was getting hot and let simmer for a couple of minutes to thicken. I then grated in nutmeg to taste. I love the taste of fresh grated nutmeg, it has a subtle still very distinct flavor and a mild kick.

Nutmeg 15FebNutmeg

I added the grated cheese and made sure it melted before poring it over the whole dish.

15FebLasangaToCook

I then baked it for 35 minutes until warmed through and slightly golden on top. While that was baking I made a crunchy blood orange salad to go with it. I used some of the spinach to make a spinach, herb and lemon dressing.

15FebSalad

The lasagna came out bubbling and delicious.

15BakedLasanga

The salad complimented the lasagna and I can’t believe my £3.50 beef mince made for two delicious dinners!

15FebLasangaMeal

I have entered this to the great Credit Crunch Munch, hosted by Fab Food 4 All and fuss free flavours 

CreditCrunchMunch

Comments
3 Responses to “SpagBol Lasagne – left over dinner”
  1. Who could have thought all these are leftover!! They look very delicious.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] at Food Eat Love invented this tasty looking Spagbol Lasagne after making far too much Spaghetti Bolognese. She made a bechamel sauce to which she added some […]



Leave a Reply

