Slow roast lamb – perfect Rugby food!

We were lucky to have tickets for the rugby this weekend. It is always a fun day out! Despite a pale sun it was quite cold and I bought a half shoulder of lamb before we headed out and decided to slow roast it so that it would be ready when we got back home as it needs at least 4 – 5 hours!

Slow roast shoulder of lamb, enough for 4 people – oven 120C

  • 1/2 shoulder of lamb, on the bone
  • 2 lemons, halved
  • 1 chilli
  • 4 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 4 dl chicken stock
  • thyme
  • salt & pepper

I rubbed the lamb with oil and added salt, pepper and the crushed garlic. In the cooking tin I poured the stock, added the chilli, roughly chopped and the lemon and placed the lamb on top. It cooked for about 4 1/2 hours the house smelled wonderful when we got home!

I squeezed the lemon juice from the cooked lemon and then put the remaining liquid in the roasting pan through a sieve and skimmed off most of the fat, placed it in a pan and added a tsp of creme fraiche to serve on the side. The lemons gave a lovely and tangy addition and worked very well with the reduced stock, cutting through the rich meat.

02FebRoastLambWhole

I bought some cabbage and spinach to go with the lamb, thinking I had potato at home. I steamed the cabbage

02FebCabbage

I used the spinach as a base for a sauce verte, using ingredients I had at home. The garlic was slightly strong and I might have blanched it if I knew but it was still delicious!

Spinach sauce verte

  • Spinach, 2 good handfuls
  • Basil leaves, about 8
  • 2 tbsp spiced seeds
  • 1 roughly chopped garlic clove
  • 3 spring onions, sliced
  • peccorini romano cheese, about 3 tbsp – finely grated
  • olive oil
  • salt & pepper

For the seeds I make a batch to have at home, easy to sprinkle over and when stored in an airtight jar they last a long time as well! I use a mix of sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds and hemp seeds, I toast them and add salt, pepper and cayenne pepper, it makes for a delicious sprinkle on almost any foods.

Add all the ingredients in to a blender, and enough oil to mix everything. The hemp seeds added a great texture and made the sauce more interesting.

02FebSauceVerte

I didn’t have any potato at home so opted for toast on the side, we were a little hungry so no time to go to the shop and back but it was a very satisfying meal, perfect to get rid of the chill, even better with a bottle of Pinot Noir!

02FebLambDinner

Comments
4 Responses to “Slow roast lamb – perfect Rugby food!”
  1. Absolutely gorgeous! I hate to say it but maybe too good for rugby (and I’m saying that as a rugby fan!) I love your green sauce. Must try it the next time I roast lamb.

    • petra08 says:

      hi

      glad you like it and your comment did make me laugh you are probably right but the house did smell so lovely when we got home!

  2. csgcecchi says:

    Petra this sounds delicious. Will attempt and let you know how it goes…

Leave a Reply

