Warming hot and sour meatball soup

I have been battling a cold for the last few weeks. I have a few good days and then I feel completely lethargic again. I felt better but after a hectic weekend  I decided that I needed energizing and healthy food.  I also wanted something that can be dinner for tomorrow as well. I had a lot of veg in the fridge so there is a long list of ingredients but anything can of course be replaced with what you have at home.

Hot and Sour Meatball Soup, serves 4 or 5

  • Spanish green, sliced
  • 1 leek, sliced
  • 1 carrot, cut julienne
  • 2 celery stalks, sliced
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1 small fennel, sliced
  • ginger, cut in to very thin julienne strips
  • 8 spring onions, sliced, half for the sop, half for garnishing
  • 1 lime (set the zest aside), cut in half
  • 1 potato, peeled and cut
  • 1 turnip, peeled and cut
  • tomato, peeled, de seeded and cut in to chunks
  • 1 piece of ginger, cut rough to be removed before serving
  • 1 chilli, de seeded and sliced
  • 6 cracked black peppercorns
  • 2 bayleaves
  • 2 l chicken stock
  • 1 tbsp hot sauce
  • 1 pork and chilli sausage
  • extra salt if necessary

For garnish

  • tomato, peeled, de seeded and sliced
  • spring onion, sliced

Prep the veg and set aside. I had some chicken stock in the freezer that I had made before so I got that out as well. While I waited for the stock to boil I started on the meatballs.

Chopped up veg

03MarchVeg

Turnip 03MarchTurnip

Peeled, de seeded and chopped tomato 03MarchTomatoes

Hot and sour pork meatballs

  • 600 gr mince pork 
  • 1 egg
  • chopped curly parsley
  • zest of 1 lime
  • 1 chilli, de seeded and finely chopped
  • grated ginger
  • minced lemon grass, just the tender inner part
  • paprika powder
  • salt & pepper

03MarchMeatballFlavouring

Mix everything and make small meatballs for the soup. Place them on a wet cutting board and they won’t stick.

When the stock is boiling add all the veg except the turnip, potato and tomato and let boil for 10 minutes. Slice the sausage and put it back in the broth. Then add the remaining veg and the meatballs and simmer for 15 minutes until all the veg and meatballs are cooked through. Remove the large ginger pieces and lime halves and serve with chunks of bread and some grated parmesan cheese on top. It was very warming, the chilli added a little heat, the lime a nice, fresh sourness, energizing and warming.

03MarchSoup

 

I have entered this in to Javelin Warriors great Made with Love Mondays, cooking from scratch!

MadeWithLove

Comments
2 Responses to “Warming hot and sour meatball soup”
  1. Wow, this is filled goodness! I love the medley of different root vegetables like fennel and turnip. And the meatballs sound so tasty… I know it’s been a while now, but I hope you’re feeling better… Thanks so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

