A twist on a chicken and mash dinner

No matter how much I love to travel, it is always lovely to come back! Cooking something with familiar flavors always feels a little like homecoming. This time I had a bit of a strange request but it made me smile. Chicken with mash and baked beans.

I had cleared the fridge before we left so I put on all the warm clothes I had and stepped out in the icy winds and swirling snow flakes to get the ingredients. Once in the shop I also used the time to what felt like defrosting a bit! I got some chicken breast, potatoes, a bunch of spring onions and I was tempted by two corn on the cob.

I started by making Sweetcorn and spring onion mash, serves 2

  • 2 large potatoes, peeled and cut in to large chunks 
  • 2 corn on the cob
  • spring onions
  • salt

Put the oven on 180C

Bring everything but the spring onions to the boil and let boil for 20 minutes or until soft. Whilst that is boiling spice the chicken, I used paprika powder, salt and pepper and then pan fry it around and then place for 12-15 minutes in the warm oven adding a peeled quartered onion.

I made some garlic mushrooms to go with the dinner.

11March_Mushrooms

When it was 5 minutes left for the corn and potatoes I added the spring onion to the pot on top to steam. I started to gently heat the baked beans.

Once the veg was cooked though I set some of the cooking liquid aside, took the corn out to cool and kept the spring onion warm until serving. I put the lid on the potatoes and kept warm whilst cutting the corn off the cob. I put the corn in a warm bowl for serving.

11March_Sweetcorn

I mashed the potatoes and added some of the cooking liquid and a small knob of butter and mixed. I then took the corn cobs (with the corn cut off) and ran a knife down them over the mash, this will use up that last bit of corn and some of the “corn milk” will be adding flavor to the mash. Last minute I also added one chopped spring onion. I love to add a bit of crunch to mash as it is so soft and it also brings flavor.

11March_mash

The mash and the chicken was done at the same time, and the the beans warmed through. It was a bit of an odd sounding combination but it worked and it tasted just like home!

11March_ChickenMeal

Leave a Reply

