Inspired by Irish stew on St Patrick’s day

I don’t have any Irish ties at all except some Irish friends but I felt inspired to make an Irish stew on St Patrick’s day! I am not sure I have ever set out to cook Irish foods before so I had to do some research online. It seemed that Irish stew is a little like Swedish meatballs, everyone have their own, slightly different recipe. The base is lamb, potato, carrot and onion so I used this and then added a few more veg. Mine turned out to be something between an Irish stew and a lamb pot au feu, still delicious.

Irish inspired lamb stew, serves 4

  • 600 gr neck of lamb, trimmed and bone removed. 
  • 1/2 small pointy cabbage, quatered, keep the core
  • 4 potatoes, peeled
  • 2 celery stalks
  • 1 fennel, halved
  • 2 carrots
  • 1 parsnip
  • 1 leek
  • 3 shallot onions, peeled
  • 2 l water
  • 3 bayleaves
  • thyme
  • salt
  • 6 peppercorns

Place the lamb in a pot with cold water. Bring to the boil and then take off the heat. Take the meat out and rinse. Clean the pan and repeat the process again. Then place the meat in the clean pan and add the water and the veg. Bring to a boil and then let simmer for an hour. Skim from time to time.

17MarchVegForStew

After an hour I took the veg out. I placed them in a bowl that I covered with tin foil to keep them warm whilst keeping the stew simmering for another 30 minutes.

After 30 minutes add the veg back and let simmer for 30 more minutes and then it is ready to serve.

17MarchIrishStew

The broth was rich from the meat and the veg. I would perhaps have used a bone as well but it was not necessary. As the broth had only simmered the broth was very clear and it made for a delicious and light Sunday dinner. Just as I was serving up the weather changed from rain to hail and I felt very happy to be nice and snug inside with a piping hot bowl of Irish inspired stew.

For dessert I did a warm fruit salad. Most likely even better with ice cream but perfect energy boosting food.

Warm red wine fruit salad, serves 4

  • 1 small punnet of plums 
  • 2 satsumas
  • 1 handful of grapes
  • 1 punnet of blueberries
  • 1 dl red wine
  • 1/2 dl demerara sugar

Remove the stone and the skin from the plums and slice them. Rinse the grapes and blueberries, peel the satsumas, remove as much of the white as possible and check the segments for pips, remove them if you find any. Place the wine and the sugar in a pan and let reduce to a syrup, it won’t take very long so keep an eye on it.

Then add the fruit and cook for about 3 minutes. Put a lid on and set aside until you need it, it will keep cooking for a while and soften the fruit. Re heat before serving. How was your St Patrick’s day?

17MarchFruitSalad

Comments
2 Responses to “Inspired by Irish stew on St Patrick’s day”
  1. I have to say that your Irish-inspired stew has brought out the inner Irish peasant in me – I am absolutely starving. 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Rachel
      I did a big batch and somehow there was so little left! I should look more in to the Irish cuisine and see what I can find!

Leave a Reply

