Butternut squash dip

I tried on a pair of trousers the other day and have to admit that they were a bit tight. I hate when that happens and thought perhaps I should change my diet a bit and eat more veg. I love to snack and it is so often some cheese and a handful of grapes. The other day I saw a chef on TV (can’t remember the program it was Allegra) add tahini to pumpkin and it looked so nice I thought I should try it, except a little different.

I used butternut squash as this is one of my favorite vegetables. The dip turned out delicious and I will make it again!

Butternut squash dip, oven 180C

  • 1 butternut, peeled and diced
  • 2 tbsp rapeseed oil
  • salt
  • pepper
  • ground coriander
  • tyme
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • tahini, about 1 tbsp
  • olive oil, 2-3 tbsp
  • 1 tsp hot sauce
  • toasted seeds

Mix the spices and oil with the butternut squash. Place in an oven proof pan with the garlic cloves and roast for about 30 minutes.

17MarchButternut

Take the butternut squash out when it starts to colour and is cooked through, it should look like this.

17MarchRoastButternut

Place butternut, garlic, tahini and olive oil in a blender and mix quickly. I like a little texture. Take the dip out and place in a bowl, I added hot sauce, a little salt and a hint more tahini to taste. Before serving I sprinkled the dip with toasted seeds.

17MarchButternutDip

We ate the dip with crudites and cut up toast. It was a perfect snack for two. It had a rich taste, the sweet butternut with the tahini worked very well and the mellow flavor of roast garlic came through.

17MarchButternutDip&Sides

I would also eat this, perhaps in a wrap, or served as a starter with chicken, well worth doing again.

 

I have entered this to Javelin Warriors great Made with Love Mondays, cooking from scratch

MadeWithLove

Comments
7 Responses to “Butternut squash dip”
  1. The dip looks sumptuous – I’m thinking hot weather, mezze, a glass of wine (or four!) and this delicious dip. I can’t wait!

  2. What an awesome dip, Petra! You had me at roasted butternut squash – it’s my favorite winter squash and it’s impossible not to love… So creative and thanks so much for sharing!

  3. That does look good – I’ve made something a bit like that out of Jerusalem. Delicious!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Gourds: This Butternut Squash Dip is the perfect way to usher in fall and enjoy the lovely butternut squash that’s been in the […]



Leave a Reply

