Egg wrapped salmon and bacon hash

I saw a whole salmon at the fishmongers yesterday and it had a great price. I went there to get some salmon fillets but after some debate decided to go for a whole salmon. The fishmonger kindly cut it up for me and All I did was remove the skin and the pin bones. I had more than enough for dinner, I froze salmon for four dinners and had a little piece for the dogs who love all things seafood! I gently poached a small piece of salmon for their dinner and they were very happy.

I cooked so much I had a piece left over and decided to use it for brunch along with a little bacon.

Flaked salmon 29March_FlakeySalmon

Egg wrapped salmon & bacon brunch hash, serves 2, oven on 225C

  • Pre cooked salmon, flake it and set aside
  • 2 rashes of crispy bacon, I cook mine in the oven
  • 2 eggs, separate each egg in individual bowls
  • 3 small potatoes, peeled and cubed finely
  • 1 onion, chipped finely
  • salt & pepper

___

  • Chopped parsley 
  • 1 de seeded tomato, chopped
  • sweet pepper, chopped

Place the bacon rashes in the oven so they have time to crisp up. I used smoked streaky for that extra smokey flavor.

Pan fry the potato cubes until almost done, then add the onion and let cook through. Pour in to a bowl and add the salmon, sweet pepper, parsley and tomato and mix through, taste with salt and pepper.

Chop the crispy bacon, save about 1/2 rash. Add the bacon to the mixture. Chop the last of the bacon fine.

29March_Salmon&BaconHash

Wipe the pan clean and heat with a little oil and add one of the egg whites. Pan fry thinly and when done add the salmon mixture, roll up and place on a plate. Add the egg yolk on top and serve with some toast.

29March_Brunch

After that I feel ready to get started on the Easter dinner for tomorrow!

 

I have entered this to the always challenging Made with love Mondays hosted by Javelin Warrior

MadeWithLove

Comments
5 Responses to “Egg wrapped salmon and bacon hash”
  1. This is such a tasty and tempting dish, Petra! And I love the presentation with the yolk on top… I would happily eat this any day of the week for breakfast, lunch, dinner or brunch 😉 Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. I saw this over on made with love no days and just had to cone over and say ‘hi’ This is so simple yet so clever! Lovely 🙂

  3. Err, stupid kindle-speak.and poor typing. That should have been mondays not no days.

Leave a Reply

