Lamb two ways and asparagus for Easter

I had some time to think about what to cook for Easter last week. I had been away for quite some time with little or no time to cook so I was really looking forward to making an Easter dinner. I went to Robson’s Butcher to get my meat already on Thursday and how lucky I was! They had run out of leg of lamb but I was after shoulder and breast and that was no problems. By Saturday morning they had run out of lamb completely.

After much thought and changing the menu a couple of times I finally settled on this; (some Spanish influence from our Barcelona trip)

Starter

Asparagus with egg yolk and chorizo

Main course 

Stuffed breast of lamb, slow cooked shoulder of lamb served with stuffed baby potatoes and stuffed mushrooms

Dessert

Cheeseboard

I started on the breast of lamb straight away by curing it in the fridge for 24 hours.

Feta and chorizo stuffed breast of lamb, serves 2 or 4-5 if served with the half shoulder

  • Rinse the breast breast of lamb and trim of needed
  • 1/4 pack of Feta cheese, crumbled fine
  • 2 cm Chorizo, cubed very fine
  • string for binding

Mix the feta cheese and the chorizo and spread on to the trimmed breast of lamb.

30March_LambBreast

Roll tightly and tie as tight as you can to keep the stuffing inside. The next cooking step if a confit, I used organic rapeseed oil as I didn’t want the flavor of duck fat and cooked it at 120C for 3 hours. I used a thermometer in the oil to keep an eye on the temperature.

Whilst that was cooking I did a mushroom stuffing from a coquina squash, it also works as a dip

Coquina squash stuffed button mushrooms, serves 4 as dip or stuffing for 20-25 medium button mushrooms, oven 190C, 40 mins + 25 mins for the mushrooms

  • 1 Coquina squash, peeled and cut in chunks for roasting 
  • 4 tomatoes, quartered
  • spice mix – ground coriander, salt, pepper and paprika powder
  • 2 tbsp veg oil

——-

  • 1 tbsp tahini 
  • olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp hot sauce
  • 1 -2 dl grated Manchego

Mix the spices with the oil and mix with the squash and add to an oven proof pan. Then add the tomatoes and roast for 40 minutes until soft and slightly caramelized.

Place in a blender and whizz until mixed. Then add the rest of the ingredients. leave the grated cheese out if used as a dip if you wish. I stuffed the mushrooms and baked them for 25 mins with the lamb.

30March_BakedMushrooms

The rest I served as a side dish.

30March_SquashDip

I slow roasted the shoulder of lamb for 5 hours in an 120C oven as soon as the Coquina dip was made. When 30 minutes remained I added chicken stock to the shoulder of lamb for the gravy.

Feta creme stuffed mini baked potatoes, serves 4

  • 8 baby new potatoes, bake them until done
  • 1/2 pack of Feta cheese, crumbled fine
  • 1/2 dl extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp creme fraiche
  • 1 tbsp no fat naturel yoghurt
  • grated rind from 1/2 lemon
  • lemon thyme
  • cracked black pepper

Mix all the ingredients, it should be a quite firm mixture. When the potatoes are baked place a small knob of butter in to each one and then shape it and place on top of each potato before serving.

30March_BakedPotatoes

The starter kicked off the diner with some lovely white wine. The asparagus was steamed and left with a nice bite still, the soft egg yolk was delicious instead of hollandaise sauce, I bought the eggs from the butchers and they come from free range and organic fed hens. The chorizo is picante and cooked briefly to crisp up and provide texture.

30March_Starter

The shoulder was resting when we ate the starter. I poured the cooking juices to a pan and removed as much of the fat as I could before thickening it and adding 2 tbsp of cream.

30March_LambGravy

I removed the string from the breast of lamb and pan fried in a dry pan around to give it a crispy surface before slicing it.

30March_StuffedBreastofLamb

The shoulder of lamb was so tender I took two forks and flaked the meat off the bone, it smelled wonderful and I could not resist tasting a strand of lamb even before serving! Quality control!

30March_CookedLamb

We had some wonderful cheeses, some from wonderful Neils Yard in Covent Garden where our dinner guest had made the effort to go as she was in charge.

30March_Cheese

I found some Muscadet grapes, just beautiful in the shop and together with a sweet wine it was the perfect ending to our Easter dinner.

30March_Grapes

There was a lot of elements but it all came together, the flavors ran through the whole meal and nothing was overpowering. I choose to put the emphasis on lemon and herbs and omitted the garlic as I wanted the lamb flavor to really come through and I think it worked. It gave me  a very satisfying session in the kitchen!  I hope your Easter has been as good as mine so far! Happy Easter!

 

I have entered this to the always great Made with Love Mondays, challenging me to cook from scratch  hosted by Javelin Warrior

MadeWithLove

Comments
2 Responses to “Lamb two ways and asparagus for Easter”
  1. What an Easter feast! Everything sounds so good and that asparagus and chorizo starter sounds and looks fantastic… I’m so impressed with everything and thank you so much for sharing this bounty!

    • petra08 says:

      hi there,
      glad you like it, and thanks again for your Made with Love Mondays, I love it and such a great idea!

Leave a Reply

